Album 0003: Weird Al Yankovic – Alapalooza

Release Date: 1993
Genre: Comedy/Pop/Rock


1. Jurassic Park (03:55)
2. Young, Dumb & Ugly (04:25)
3. Bedrock Anthem (03:41)
4. Frank’s 2000″ TV (04:06)
5. Achy Breaky Song (03:24)
6. Traffic Jam (04:02)
7. Talk Soup (04:24)
8. Livin’ In The Fridge (03:55)
9. She Never Told Me She Was A Mime (04:54)
10. Harvey The Wonder Hamster (00:21)
11. Waffle King (04:26)
12. Bohemian Polka (03:40)
13. Headline News (03:48)

Total Length: 48:41

Jurassic Park is one of those great Weird Al tracks. The original song being good has a lot to do with it, but then Al’s changed lyrics are fun and the song works. Young, Dumb & Ugly is not something I can get into because I have never really liked AC/DC. Bedrock Anthem is a cool tribute to RHCP while again, being a good song on its own. Not too sure why this wasn’t included in the Flintstones movie released the next year, they changed stuff enough for the film that this would have worked. Frank’s 2000″ TV is a good lyrical idea but the song doesn’t catch me.

Achy Breaky Song is a funny parody about music in that time period. I’m also a sucker for added hand farts. Traffic Jam has no real appeal for me because I’ve never understood the love for Prince. Talk Soup is somehow the first of two Peter Gabriel sendoffs on this album, and again since I don’t like the original I can’t really like this. Livin’ In The Fridge shares a trait with Achy Breaky Song, where the factor of Al makes me like this song even though I don’t really like Aerosmith. I suppose it’s kind of odd that I would like this and not the previous track, but sometimes subjective taste is just hard to describe.

She Never Told Me She Was A Mime is okay, just kind of middle of the road. Harvey The Wonder Hamster is a fun tiny track from Weird Al’s short lived show. Waffle King is alright, but it’s the type of pop I just can’t stand. Bohemian Polka is pretty much amazing. The original song is one of the best things ever written, and this version is just too much fun. Headline News is a bonus track, and is pretty good. The child in me even likes the instrumental section that ends the track. I really like some of the tracks on here, but I find myself skipping through most of this album usually.

Final Rating: 5.5/10

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: