Album 0007: Kamelot – The Black Halo

Release Date: 2005
Genre: Power Metal

Tracklisting:

1. March Of Mephisto (05:29)
2. When The Lights Are Down (03:41)
3. The Haunting (Somewhere In Time) (05:40)
4. Soul Society (04:18)
5. Interlude I: Dei Gratia (00:57)
6. Abandoned (04:07)
7. This Pain (03:59)
8. Moonlight (05:10)
9. Interlude II: Un Assassinio Molto Silenzioso (00:41)
10. The Black Halo (03:43)
11. Nothing Ever Dies (04:46)
12. Memento Mori (08:54)
13. Interlude III: Midnight – Twelve Tolls For A New Day (01:21)
14. Serenade (04:33)
15. The Haunting (Somewhere In Time) (single edit) (03:42)
16. March Of Mephisto (single edit) (03:30)

Total Length: 01:04:43

March Of Mephisto was the first Kamelot song I ever listened to, and it’s brilliant. A great riff, wonderful vocals, and the song structure is fresh and always keeps your attention. When The Lights Are Down is a pretty good song, but honestly I think it’s really the production and little touches that save it. The Haunting (Somewhere In Time) is pretty amazing. Just like the first track, the structure is fantastic and all the vocals are great. Soul Society has a really good chorus, just another great song.

Interlude I: Dei Gratia isn’t really interesting, just some flavor for the album really. Abandoned took me a little while to get into, but I love how emotional it gets at parts. This Pain is pretty good, not the best song on here. I like the production, again. Moonlight straddles a nice line between metal and ballad, I like it. Interlude II: Un Assassinio Molto Silenzioso is a weird little piece, nice distraction for a moment I suppose.

The Black Halo, despite being the title track, is actually one of the lesser songs on here. It’s still good, but nothing really shines. Nothing Ever Dies is kind of likewise. I sort of enjoy what they do with it, but something about it that I can’t quite describe puts me off. Memento Mori is a big song with a lot of cool parts. It’s not as outright engaging as some other songs, but is very good. Interlude III: Midnight – Twelve Tolls For A New Day is interesting and relates to the overall story which I didn’t really pay attention to too much. Serenade is kind of in the same vein as the last few songs, solid but not fantastic.

The last two tracks are radio edits, which I think are terrible bonus tracks. Radio edits just annoy me, especially in songs like Mephisto where it pretty much cuts out what was really interesting about the song. I won’t count it against the album though. Thia album is pretty fantastic, it just took me a while to get into. I wouldn’t think of it immediately when I think of great albums, but it is just very solid all around.

Final Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

