Album 0009: The Beatles – Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band

Release Date: 1967
Genre: Pop/Rock

Tracklisting:

1. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (02:03)
2. With A Little Help From My Friends (02:45)
3. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds (03:28)
4. Getting Better (02:47)
5. Fixing A Hole (02:38)
6. She’s Leaving Home (03:26)
7. Being For The Benefit Of Mr. Kite! (02:39)
8. Within You, Without You (05:08)
9. When I’m Sixty-Four (02:40)
10. Lovely Rita (02:46)
11. Good Morning, Good Morning (02:35)
12. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise) (01:19)
13. A Day In The Life (05:36)

Total Length: 39:48

Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band is a pretty fun intro to the album, just cool. With A Little Help From My Friends is pretty good, but I can’t say I personally really enjoy it. I realize that many of the songs on this album are considered absolute classics, but sometimes my senses just don’t match up. Cool melodies in this though, I just feel like the lyrics are cheesy. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds is a song I kind of take contention with. The intro and verse is fantastic, but the chorus is completely different and I frankly don’t care for it. If an entire song was made based off the intro and verse alone I would love it.

Getting Better has a fun chorus, but I don’t really care about the rest of the song. Fixing A Hole is alright. She’s Leaving Home is pretty fantastic, I really like everything about it. Being For The Benefit Of Mr. Kite! is just fun, it’s really interesting for the time. Within You, Without You is about the only song on this album I don’t enjoy. It’s possible to do an Indian-influenced song without it sounding boring and drawn out like this track. I suppose it was pretty different for the time, though. When I’m Sixty-Four is a cheesy pop song that I really enjoy.

Lovely Rita is an okay song, I feel like the ending is kind of odd, but the rest of the track is fun. Good Morning, Good Morning is okay, don’t really get the point of it. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise) is a fun little track. A Day In The Life has a couple disparate parts strung together, and they are all good. I especially like the first section. The ending bit is kind of fun too.

I haven’t really been able to get into The Beatles so far. I enjoy some songs once in a while, but there’s nothing that really compels me to listen to them. I do enjoy this album though, and it took me a few spins to get into it.

Final Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

