Album 0015: The Vandals – Oi! To The World

Release Date: 1996
Genre: Punk

Tracklisting:

1. A Gun For Christmas (03:01)
2. Grandpa’s Last X-mas (02:10)
3. Thanks For Nothing (02:08)
4. Oi! To The World (02:46)
5. Nothing’s Going To Ruin My Holiday (02:24)
6. Christmas Time For My Penis (03:16)
7. I Don’t Believe In Santa Claus (01:33)
8. My First X-mas (As A Woman) (02:41)
9. Dance Of The Sugarplum Fairies (01:19)
10. Here I Am Lord (02:17)
11. C-H-R-I-S-T-M-A-S (01:43)
12. Hang Myself From The Tree (04:28)
13. Overture (03:57)

Total Length: 33:45

A Gun For Christmas has a fun intro, and is a nice exercise in songwriting for the band. It’s still their sound, but different in a way the band hadn’t done before. Grandpa’s Last X-mas is fun and oddly I’m pretty sure a lot of people can relate to the lyrics. Thanks For Nothing is alright, it’s one of the harsher songs on here style wise. Oi! To The World is pretty much a classic, I really the idea of unity that was gaining traction in southern California bands at this time.

Nothing’s Going To Ruin My Holiday is just brilliant, I love the production and lyrics on this one. Christmas Time For My Penis is just great. The arrangement is great and their brand of comedy definitely works here. I Don’t Believe In Santa Claus works pretty well and is sort of a parody in itself. My First X-mas (As A Woman) is another fantastic song, a pretty good representation of why I love this album.

Dance Of The Sugarplum Fairies starts a trio of covers, this one is just fantastic. Here I Am Lord is one of the band’s few forays into ska territory, and it’s just funny. C-H-R-I-S-T-M-A-S is just filthy but still fun. Hang Myself From The Tree may be the best song on here overall. The arrangement is just as good as previous songs, and everything is melancholy while still retaining the feeling of Christmas. Overture is something that was added to the album later and is a fun ending piece that gathers all of the melodies together.

I just love this album. Every once in a while a song here or there will annoy me, but the rest of the album makes up for it. Its short length also works in its favor, I just like listening to it and enjoying it and then it’s gone.

Final Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

