Album 0019: Devin Townsend – Ziltoid The Omniscient

Release Date: 2007
Genre: Progressive Metal


1. ZTO (01:17)
2. By Your Command (08:10)
3. Ziltoidia Attaxx!!! (03:43)
4. Solar Winds (09:47)
5. Hyperdrive (03:48)
6. N9 (05:31)
7. Planet Smasher (05:45)
8. Omnidimensional Creator (00:48)
9. Color Your World (09:45)
10. The Greys (04:15)
11. Tall Latte (01:03)
12. Messages From Ziltoid (07:35)
13. Travelling Salesman (02:14)
14. Another Road (04:31)

Total Length: 01:08:10

ZTO is just a nice little intro, completely sets the tone of the album. By Your Command is the first real song on the album and it’s big. There is fast and heavy parts, some calm parts, just basically everything I love about Devin Townsend. The production on this album is just really velvety and fun, it just kind of invites you in. Ziltoidia Attaxx!!! is an overall heavier song, and showcases all the different ‘voices’ Devin uses throughout the album, which is another huge point in this album’s favor. Whether Devin is calmly singing or screaming his brains out, it’s all fantastic.

Solar Winds is a song that builds up from a laid back beginning to one of the high points of this album. The thing about songwriting is that a song can be a minute long or thirty minutes long, if it’s written well you can enjoy every minute of it. Devin’s voice is still a highlight on this song. Hyperdrive is brilliant, the melody is just oozing out of the song, and the vocals are set back more than the other songs to accomplish this. It’s just haunting. N9 is probably my least favorite on the album. It has some cool vocal moments and a neat bridge, but tends to go on a bit too long.

Planet Smasher is one of the coolest songs on here. The beginning build up is cool as hell, and the ‘voice’ of the Planet Smasher is one of the heaviest things I’ve heard Devin sing and it works perfectly. I was obsessed with this song when I first heard this album. Omnidimensional Creator is just a little story piece, it’s kind of funny. Color Your World is really the centerpiece of the album, what everything has been building up to. It starts off fast and heavy, but eventually slows down to the softest part of the album, before getting right back into it to wrap things up. Just a cool song. The ending is especially great with the repeated line.

The Greys
starts off with one of the coolest riffs ever, and I just love the vocal line in the song. Tall Latte ends the story of the album, and isn’t that interesting upon relistens. Messages From Ziltoid is a bonus track with a faux interview with Ziltoid. It’s really long winded and was good for about one listen to tell the truth. Travelling Salesman is a rough demo of a song that could have been fun if interested. As it is it’s just more like a one note idea expanded into a song. Another Road is really the only worthwhile bonus track on here. It sounds like some cool ideas played to a click track and could have been really neat if made into a song or incorporated into some of the other songs.

This is just one of my favorite albums. I tend to skip the bonus tracks upon listens, so I don’t really factor them into the score. The album just hits so many good points, has so many memorable parts, and I don’t see how anyone couldn’t love it.

Final Rating: 9.5/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: