Album 0028: Symphony X – V: The New Mythology Suite

Release Date: 2000
Genre: Progressive Metal

Tracklisting:

1. Prelude (01:07)
2. Evolution (The Grand Design) (05:21)
3. Fallen (05:51)
4. Transcendence (Segue) (00:38)
5. Communion And The Oracle (07:45)
6. The Bird-Serpent War/Cataclysm (04:02)
7. On The Breath Of Poseidon (Segue) (03:02)
8. Egypt (07:04)
9. The Death of Balance/Lacrymosa (03:42)
10. Absence Of Light (04:59)
11. A Fool’s Paradise (05:48)
12. Rediscovery (Segue) (01:25)
13. Rediscovery (Part II) – The New Mythology (12:01)

Total Length: 01:02:46

Prelude is a fairly nice intro track, I’m a sucker for these. Evolution (The Grand Design) has a cool chorus and the vocals overall are neat. Fallen honestly isn’t that too interesting to me, but it’s not a bad song. I’m not sure why I can’t really get into it. Transcendence (Segue) is exactly what the name says, it’s just a neat little bridging piece. Communion And The Oracle is definitely the best song so far. It’s well paced and melodic.

The Bird-Serpent War/Cataclysm is fairly interesting and has a few neat vocal moments. On The Breath Of Poseidon (Segue) is a slightly meandering segue. It goes on for a bit longer than it really needs, but I suppose it’s a nice breather. Egypt is a neat song but I just can’t get into it. The Death Of Balance/Lacrymosa has a really cool intro, and kind of a creepy end. Absence Of Light is kind of cool. A Fool’s Paradise is really good, the chorus is infectious.

Rediscovery (Segue) is basically a cool intro for the next track. Rediscovery (Part II) – The New Mythology is a fairly cool big song. I don’t know what it is with this album, it is just completely uninteresting to me. I can’t get into it, and I’ve tried listening to it on multiple occasions. I like this band, and this album is usually rated highly so I’m honestly not sure what my deal is.

Final Rating: 6/10

Leave a Reply

