Album 0029: Led Zeppelin – Led Zeppelin III

Release Date: 1970
Genre: Rock

Tracklisting:

1. Immigrant Song (02:25)
2. Friends (03:54)
3. Celebration Day (03:30)
4. Since I’ve Been Loving You (07:23)
5. Out On The Tiles (04:07)
6. Gallows Pole (04:56)
7. Tangerine (03:10)
8. That’s The Way (05:37)
9. Bron-Y-Aur Stomp (04:16)
10. Hats Off To (Roy) Harper (03:43)

Total Length: 43:01

Immigrant Song is just a classic tune. The vocals are haunting, and I’m only just noticing now how cool the bass line is. Just a pretty fantastic song. Friends is a personal favorite song by this band. I love the strings, the percussion, the lyrics, and everything comes together in this slightly spooky fashion. It’s a shame that this song only ever got played once. Celebration Day is a great, underrated ‘rock’ song by the band. It does start off very suddenly, because the original drum intro got erased, but thankfully it was put on. I do prefer the live version of this track though, the guitar solo when played live is just fantastic.

Since I’ve Been Loving You is a really good classic blues track, helped mostly by Robert Plant’s singing. The only thing is that once it was pointed out to me that the pedal for the kick drum squeaks, the song was ruined for me, or at least this version was. I can still try to ignore it, but if I want to hear this song I go straight for a live version. Out On The Tiles is a fairly cool rocking song, but the majority of isn’t too interesting. Apparently the band realized this too as they would just play the intro before going into Black Dog live.

The second half of the album is lighter and pretty much acoustic, compared to the heavy rock sound of the first half. This side starts off with Gallows Pole is a song that I didn’t understand for a long time. The buildup is really cool though, as more instruments get added and the pace is quickened. It’s really cool. Tangerine is a fantastic little song. I love the feeling and the guitars in it. That’s The Way is a song that I just don’t understand. For me it goes on too long and doesn’t seem to go anywhere; I find myself losing track of the song while listening to it.

Bron-Y-Aur Stomp is sort of fun, I like the percussion and the rhythm but I get bored about halfway through. Hats Off To (Roy) Harper is a song that makes no sense to me. It’s a tribute to a style I have no experience with and so the song means nothing to me. I think I like individual songs on this album more than I like this album. It’s weird to phrase it that way, but that is what makes sense to me.

Final Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

