Album 0039: Flogging Molly – Within A Mile Of Home

Release Date: 2004
Genre: Folk Punk

Tracklisting:

1. Screaming At The Wailing Wall (03:41)
2. The Seven Deadly Sins (02:50)
3. Factory Girls (03:51)
4. To Youth (My Sweet Roisin Dubh) (03:17)
5. Whistles The Wind (04:33)
6. The Light Of A Fading Star (03:53)
7. Tobacco Island (05:18)
8. The Wrong Company (00:37)
9. Tomorrow Comes A Day Too Soon (03:33)
10. Queen Anne’s Revenge (03:06)
11. The Wanderlust (03:31)
12. Within A Mile Of Home (03:54)
13. The Spoken Wheel (02:13)
14. With A Wonder And A Wild Desire (03:40)
15. Don’t Let Me Die Still Wondering (04:18)

Total Length: 52:14

Screaming At The Wailing Wall is pretty much a perfect opening song, catchy and fun. The Seven Deadly Sins honestly should be better. I like all the disparate parts of it, but when it’s put together I can’t really get into it. I think it’s honestly a bit too fast. Factory Girls is pretty nice, and I enjoy the guest vocalist. To Youth (My Sweet Roisin Dubh) really isn’t all that interesting to me. Whistles The Wind is similar, nothing about it grabs me.

The Light Of A Fading Star has a fun chorus, but the rest of the song isn’t great. Tobacco Island is probably the best song on the album. It’s inventive, evocative, and catchy. The Wrong Company is a brilliant little vocal only song. Just a perfect little interlude for the album. Tomorrow Comes A Day Too Soon is a great song, very poppy but it works especially because of the percussion. Queen Anne’s Revenge is alright, I’m not a big fan of the vocals on this song, and again it seems to be a bit too fast.

The Wanderlust is fairly neat, I like the instrumentation. Within A Mile Of Home is alright, it just doesn’t grab me too much. The Spoken Wheel is alright, but I only like it because it leads directly into the next track. With A Wonder And A Wild Desire builds up very nicely, and has a neat little ending. Don’t Let Me Die Still Wondering is very average sounding to me, there’s nothing that hooks me. This album is a bit better than the last time I listened to it, but I think Flogging Molly has a trend where the front halves of their albums are much stronger than their second halves.

Final Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

