Album 0042: Gogol Bordello – Super Taranta!

Release Date: 2007
Genre: Folk Punk

Tracklisting:

1. Ultimate (03:29)
2. Wonderlust King (03:58)
3. Zina-Marina (04:19)
4. Supertheory Of Supereverything (02:56)
5. Harem In Tuscany (Taranta) (03:33)
6. Dub The Frequencies Of Love (06:15)
7. My Strange Uncles From Abroad (05:20)
8. Tribal Connection (05:05)
9. Forces Of Victory (05:24)
10. Alcohol (04:55)
11. Suddenly… (I Miss Carpaty) (05:37)
12. Your Country (04:16)
13. American Wedding (03:38)
14. Super Taranta! (06:45)

Total Length: 01:05:29

Ultimate is a brilliant song and the perfect way to open the album. The production is also near perfect and compliments the song well. Wonderlust King is a song you just want to sing along to, and just rocking. I love this song so much. Zina-Marina is fairly fun but not as outright ‘great’ as some of the other songs on the album. Supertheory Of Supereverything is a fantastic little song, just a unique song by a unique band.

Harem In Tuscany (Taranta) has a cool chorus but is not one of my favorite tracks. Dub The Frequencies Of Love is a song I just cannot get into very well. It goes on too long and I just don’t like the feel of it. My Strange Uncles From Abroad is possibly my favorite song on the album. The lyrics are great and the music is fantastic. Tribal Connection is the competition for the title of ‘best song’ on the album. This one is a bit slower and more emotional, and just as great.

Forces Of Victory is kind of neat, but some of the song just doesn’t appeal to me, namely a good chunk of the second half. Alcohol has never really appealed to me, it just feels boring. Suddenly… (I Miss Carpaty) is a very interesting song, it’s got an odd structure and fun bits, but it’s never been able to hook me. Your Country is a fun song, it’s got a cool rhythm. American Wedding is a great song, just a whole lot of fun.

Super Taranta! is a cool ending track, but not one of my favorites from the album overall. I was obsessed with this album when I first heard it years ago. It still holds up very well, some songs more than others. Just a great blend of Eastern European music and punk, it’s fantastic.

Final Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

