Album 0051: Rx Bandits – …And The Battle Begun

Release Date: 2006
Genre: Progressive Rock

Tracklisting:

1. Intro (00:46)
2. …And The Battle Begun (04:57)
3. In Her Drawer (05:12)
4. Only For The Night (03:47)
5. On A Lonely Screen (02:45)
6. 1980 (03:03)
7. One Million Miles An Hour, Fast Asleep (02:54)
8. Apparition (03:39)
9. A Mouth Full Of Hollow Threats (03:33)
10. Epoxi-Lips (06:05)
11. Tainted Wheat (03:30)
12. To Our Unborn Daughers (05:14)
13. Crushing Destroyer (05:11)

Total Length: 50:36

The Intro is a cool vocals-only start to the album. …And The Battle Begun is a fantastic opening song, with its own intro being an amazing piece of work, and the rest of the song being cool RxB craziness. Funky and heavy and just plain cool. In Her Drawer is similarly great, I just love this song. Only For The Night seems to draw some influence from the 80s, and just begs you to sing along to it.

For me, it feels like On A Lonely Screen and the few songs after it seem to form a suite of songs rather than individually taken songs. This first one is fairly good, it doesn’t start off well in my opinion. 1980 is fairly emotional, I like it. One Million Miles An Hour, Fast Asleep is obviously meant to be a faster, harder song but I just don’t like the feel of it. Apparition is a softer, laid back song and I enjoy the creepiness of it.

A Mouth Full Of Hollow Threats is a song I’ve never been able to get into much. It has some neat moments, but not enough to hook me. Epoxi-Lips is pretty good for the first half, and the second half is fairly decent but kind of drags. Tainted Wheat has some neat vocal moments but once again I just can’t get into it. To Our Unborn Daughters has some really cool moments, especially in the ending.

Crushing Destroyer is an amazing ending track, one of the best on the album. For whatever reason, I feel like I should love this album but I just don’t. Most of the tracks I know are ‘good’ but unlike other albums from this bands the songs aren’t stuck in my head for weeks. I guess that’s why this album makes me feel weird.

Final Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

