Album 0055: Tool – Undertow

Release Date: 1993
Genre: Progressive Rock/Metal

Tracklisting:

1. Intolerance (04:53)
2. Prison Sex (04:57)
3. Sober (05:07)
4. Bottom (07:15)
5. Crawl Away (05:30)
6. Swamp Song (05:32)
7. Undertow (05:22)
8. 4° (06:03)
9. Flood (07:46)
10. Disgustipated (15:47)

Total Length: 01:08:10

Intolerance is a fairly cool song, but I am really not fond of the grunge influences on this entire album. For some reason, that feeling and especially those types of guitar and bass tones make me feel queasy and uneasy. It’s also prevalent in the vocals here. Prison Sex has some cool riffs I suppose. Sober does nothing for me in any way. Bottom has an interesting first couple of minutes, but the rest falls flat.

Crawl Away has a few cool parts, especially the chorus and the one section that feels like some form of extreme metal. Swamp Song has a cool chorus. Undertow is fairly good. is kind of average, nothing special. Flood is frankly just alright, and in fact feels a bit pretentious. Disgustipated starts off with some fairly neat repeating rhythms and vocals. This entire track is a hidden track. The second half is just a high frequency tone, with some spoken word near the end.

This whole album kind of grates on me. I want to like some of the songs, but the production really puts me off, and I will admit I’m not a huge fan of the vocals. This is kind of cool for what it is, I suppose.

Final Rating: 6.5/10

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

