Album 0061: Weird Al Yankovic – Weird Al Yankovic

Release Date: 1983
Genre: Comedy/Pop

Tracklisting:

1. Ricky (02:37)
2. Gotta Boogie (02:14)
3. I Love Rocky Road (02:36)
4. Buckingham Blues (03:14)
5. Happy Birthday (02:28)
6. Stop Draggin’ My Car Around (03:16)
7. My Bologna (02:02)
8. The Check’s In The Mail (03:14)
9. Another One Rides The Bus (02:40)
10. I’ll Be Mellow When I’m Dead (03:39)
11. Such A Groovy Guy (03:03)
12. Mr. Frump In The Iron Lung (01:55)

Total Length: 32:57

Ricky is a fun parody that is worth hearing at least once. Gotta Boogie is a better idea than a song. I Love Rocky Road is worth it for hand fart sounds. Buckingham Blues isn’t very interesting. Happy Birthday is decent, but nothing memorable. Stop Draggin’ My Car Around is not that engaging.

My Bologna is a good parody of a good song that is upbeat and fun. The Check’s In The Mail is a really fun original track. Another One Rides The Bus is a fun idea, but the recording of it (live in a radio station) makes it a lot more boring than it could be. I’ll Be Mellow When I’m Dead is a fairly neat original. Such A Groovy Guy is pretty much just ‘okay’.

Mr. Frump In The Iron Lung is actually fairly neat, I like the feel of it. This album is a pretty good start for Weird Al, but he still had a lot of maturing to do. There are a few duds on here, but it’s not a bad album.

Final Rating: 5/10

Leave a Reply

