Album 0064: Zuma II – Zuma II

Release Date: 1986
Genre: Pop/Rock

Tracklisting:

1. John Wayne (03:53)
2. A Wing And A Prayer (03:51)
3. I Know, I Know (03:06)
4. I’m Walkin’ (03:44)
5. Here For You (05:16)
6. Hard Man (04:35)
7. Lonesome Me (03:38)
8. The Sun Is Dancing (04:07)
9. Who Needs You (02:48)
10. Hurry Sundown (03:30)

Total Length: 38:26

Zuma II’s only release, pretty much ignored since the release. This band was created by former Oingo Boingo keyboardist Richard Gibbs, which is how I even knew about this album. It’s an odd mix of styles in all truth. John Wayne is a really fun song, I enjoy the percussion and the lyrics, and the chorus just sticks with you. A Wing And A Prayer is a neat poppier track, but almost a little too upbeat for me.

I Know, I Know is sort of in the style of The Police, a fun ska type track. It’s a song I just love to sing along to. I’m Walkin’ is a funk-based track, not my favorite but not a bad song. Here For You is definitely one of the cooler songs. It’s drenched in 80s atmosphere, but damn if the vocals don’t grip me in their emotion. Hard Man is a weird song, most of the song is funky rock and then the chorus is kind of gospel based.

Lonesome Me might be my favorite song on here, simply because of the vocalizer main melody. It’s perfect and fits the mood so well. The Sun Is Dancing is just an average 80s pop song honestly. Who Needs You is a very fun song. It’s got a great pace and rhythm and the lyrics are great. Hurry Sundown is a fairly nice song, but it just doesn’t do much for me.

In the end this album has a few really cool songs, and I would have loved to have seen where the band could go from here, but unfortunately it was not meant to be.

Final Rating: 8/10

Tags:

Leave a Reply

