Album 0073: Blind Guardian – Imaginations From The Other Side

Release Date: 1995
Genre: Power Metal

Tracklisting:

1. Imaginations From The Other Side (07:19)
2. I’m Alive (05:31)
3. A Past And Future Secret (03:47)
4. The Script For My Requiem (06:09)
5. Mordred’s Song (05:29)
6. Born In A Mourning Hall (05:14)
7. Bright Eyes (05:16)
8. Another Holy War (04:32)
9. And The Story Ends (06:00)
10. A Past And Future Secret (demo) (03:38)
11. Imaginations From The Other Side (demo) (07:14)
12. The Script For My Requiem (demo) (07:01)

Total Length: 01:07:08

Alright, so I’ll just start off by saying that this album is one of those ‘turning point’ albums. I mean, I honestly think this is an incredible important album. But anyhow, Imaginations From The Other Side starts off fairly atmospheric, and the first time the band really uses keyboards combined with the fantasy lyrics (literally all about different fantasy literature and films) makes for a fantastic song. Hansi’s vocals are of course one of the highlights of any Blind Guardian album.

I’m Alive is just brilliant as well, especially the chorus. It just urges you to sing along. A Past And Future Secret is a softer track, which honestly sometimes the production gets ahead of itself in a sense. I still really like the song, and actually the first of 2 songs on the album regarding King Arthur in some way. The Script For My Requiem is historically influenced, and I just love all the little touches in this song. The vocals for sure make it.

Mordred’s Song is the other Arthurian song, and boy do I love it. The chorus and Queen-like guitars really stand out here. Born In A Mourning Hall is just a lot of fun, but I can’t really point to anything standing out. Bright Eyes takes a minute to get going, but is very cool. Not my favorite track on the album though. Another Holy War is brilliant though, just fantastic riffs and lyrics.

And The Story Ends has probably the best vocals on the entire album, so emotional. I just love this song to death. The demo version of A Past And Future Secret is pretty nice because I like it being subdued, but some of the flair was missing as well. The demo of Imaginations From The Other Side is a bit rougher but still works really well.

The demo of A Script For My Requiem has some keyboard stuff that I wish had been as pronounced in the final version, and is a bit longer. Overall this album is just amazing to listen through, every song gets your attention and has something to offer. Just a brilliant entry for the genre, and solidifies Blind Guardian as one of my favorite bands.

Final Rating: 9.5/10

Leave a Reply

