Album 0074: Kids Can’t Fly – Strength In Numbers

Release Date: 2010
Genre: Ska/Punk

Tracklisting:

1. She Called Shotgun (03:34)
2. Tune In (03:26)
3. The Summer (03:16)
4. Writing Letters (acoustic) (04:36)
5. Tune In (acoustic) (03:33)

Total Length: 18:23

Oh hi there British ska-pop-punk. She Called Shotgun is cheesy fun, while listening to it I feel like I shouldn’t like this song but I can’t help but enjoy it. Tune In is pretty neat, but (and this is probably just the American in me) but the accents in the vocals are just so pronounced here that I can’t help but just kind of tilt my head. They almost sound fake.

The Summer is fairly good but honestly just a bit too cheesy. Writing Letters and the acoustic version of Tune In both have the issue of simply feeling like early backing tracks combined with the finished vocals. It leaves the feeling of not being complete songs, though I’m sure these would be good live in a coffee house or something. Overall this EP is a nice little offering by the band, and just leaves me looking forward to their first full length.

Final Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

