Album 0096: Radiohead – OK Computer

Release Date: 1997
Genre: Alternative Rock

Tracklisting:

1. Airbag (04:44)
2. Paranoid Android (06:23)
3. Subterranean Homesick Alien (04:28)
4. Exit Music (For A Film) (04:25)
5. Let Down (04:59)
6. Karma Police (04:22)
7. Fitter Happier (01:57)
8. Electioneering (03:51)
9. Climbing Up The Walls (04:45)
10. No Surprises (03:49)
11. Lucky (04:20)
12. The Tourist (05:25)

Total Length: 53:27

Airbag is a pretty cool song. I like the atmosphere it conveys, and Thom Yorke’s voice works on it. Paranoid Android has touches of really good and just alright. I like the beginning and the harder sections, but I suppose it’s that third section that doesn’t do much for me. Subterranean Homesick Alien almost feels like more of a traditional song, but not in a bad way. I really like the atmosphere on it.

Exit Music (For A Film) just doesn’t interest me. Low key, vocal heavy songs can work but I’m really just not feeling it here. Let Down is a lot better though, the melodies and feelings it evokes are really good, though the synths at the end are pretty cheesy. Speaking of cheese, here comes Karma Police. I still like this song, but the chorus really just grates on me, especially that little piano bit following the vocal. I’m not sure what it is. I still recognize that it is a good track, but something just puts me off. I do really enjoy the sampled backing vocals in the last minute though, really adds a cool air to it.

Fitter Happier is an odd little track with a Microsoft Sam voice or whatever. I have to ask, was this a thing back then? Was Radiohead the first to do it, because listening to it these days just sounds cheesy and overdone, and I’m just thankful that it’s a short track. Electioneering is a lot more of a ‘rock’ song than anything else so far, and it’s a welcome change of pace. Very cool track. Climbing Up The Walls has some neat melodies, but its buried in a song that just keeps going and going for no reason.

No Surprises starts off really well, but I’m not entirely fond of the chorus. Lucky is a very good track, combining some of the better parts and moods from the rest of the album into a culmination of the ‘happiest’ song. I actually enjoy Thom’s vocals here. The Tourist is pretty good, it honestly has just the tiniest bit of post-rock in it, the buildup is pretty good. Despite some negative comments or misgivings I’ve said so far, I do enjoy this album. It’s not something I’ll put on when I’m wanting to have a fantastic, happy time, but it’s a good album and I can respect that.

Final Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

