Album 0105: Kyuss – Welcome To Sky Valley

Release Date: 1994
Genre: Stoner Rock

Tracklisting: 51:54

1. Gardenia (06:54)
2. Asteroid (04:49)
3. Supa Scoopa And Mighty Scoop (06:03)
4. 100° (02:29)
5. Space Cadet (07:03)
6. Demon Cleaner (05:19)
7. Odyssey (04:20)
8. Conan Troutman (02:12)
9. N.O. (03:48)
10. Whitewater/Lick Doo (08:58)

Total Length:

Gardenia starts off kind of cool, but for me the tone of the album isn’t set very well here. There is some quality here about this type of music, whether it’s “stoner” music or grunge or anything similar that is low and dirty that completely puts me off by the music and tones. It may be that I’m not the intended audience, or that it’s intentionally meant to cause uneasiness in the listener. Some bands/artists I know set out to do that but in this case I don’t feel like it would be on purpose. Not every song on here has this issue, but Gardenia is especially guilty of it. I’m also really not fond of the solo section.

Asteroid has the same tones and style, but I suppose it annoys me less because it builds to it, rather than starting right off the bat. Cool track overall. Supa Scoop And Mighty Scoopa is a good straightforward rock song, but the ending is unnecessary. 100° is a fairly neat little song. Nothing special, but it doesn’t bother me. Space Cadet is pretty laid back, and I really enjoy it. It lives up to its title of having a ‘spacey’ atmosphere and its length isn’t even an issue.

Demon Cleaner has a really cool main riff, but then doesn’t really go anywhere with it. Not too interesting to me. Odyssey is a fairly good song, another one that doesn’t try to be anything special and excels at what it does. Conan Troutman is kind of neat but short. N.O. has a cool Chili Peppers-like riff and remains good for the whole track. Whitewater is pretty much all noodling and solos, but it works really well. Lick Doo is a hidden track starting at about the 8 minute mark, it’s actually a pretty funny little song that doesn’t outstay its welcome. While I have praised parts of this album, I can’t say I really seek it out to listen to very often, simply because of the production and guitar/bass tones. It’s not a bad album, I just wish it was a bit different.

Final Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

