Album 0130: In Flames – Whoracle

Release Date: 1997
Genre: Melodic Death Metal


1. Jotun (03:54)
2. Food For The Gods (04:21)
3. Gyroscope (03:26)
4. Dialogue With The Stars (03:01)
5. The Hive (04:04)
6. Jester Script Transfigured (05:47)
7. Morphing Into Primal (03:05)
8. Worlds Within The Margin (05:06)
9. Episode 666 (03:46)
10. Everything Counts (03:18)
11. Whoracle (02:44)
12. Clad In Shadows ’99 (02:21)
13. Goliaths Disarm Their Davids (04:58)
14. Re-Cycles (02:36)
15. Behind Space (live) (03:37)

Total Length: 56:04

Jotun is a fairly good track with some memorable bits, but seems to go on a bit long and the vocals are pretty quiet, especially the spoken parts. Food For The Gods has some of the same issues, and the entire production feels muddled and I don’t know what to focus on. Gyroscope is somewhat good, still doesn’t grip me though. Dialogue With The Stars is a pretty neat instrumental track.

The Hive is fun, especially the guitar solo. Jester Script Transfigured doesn’t really justify its length but it’s a good song and the little bits of experimentation were neat. Morphing Into Primal is pretty good but I think my issues may just lie in this band’s style. The lyrics don’t appeal to me, nothing about the compositions keep me engrossed, it just feels so average. I only really want to like this simply because the album has a pretty good reputation.

Worlds Within The Margin sort of falls under the same umbrella as everything else so far. By the end I don’t even recall listening to it. Episode 666 at least has a memorable but cheesy chorus. I have to name Everything Counts as the best song on the album based on the strength of the chorus alone, and it’s a Depeche Mode cover of course. Whoracle is a nice ending song, but a closing instrumental track for a concept album isn’t exactly the… right action I would think to take.

That is the end of the main album proper, the rest are bonus tracks. Clad In Shadows ’99 is a re-recording of an early track of theirs and it actually has a lot more energy than most of the tracks on the rest of the album. Goliaths Disarm Their Davids (and the next two tracks) were featured on an EP that was put out before this album to generate interest. Again, this song is more interesting than the main album if a bit long.

Re-Cycles is a short acoustic medley of three of the band’s songs. This all sounds pretty good, now if only some of those melodies could come through instead of being held back by the production. Behind Space is a live track and I’m not sure what it makes it special enough to warrant being on here, but it’s not bad quality or a bad performance and that’s about all I can say. This album overall is just mediocre and I want to like it but just can’t.

Final Rating: 6/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: