Album 0141: The Devin Townsend Project – Addicted

Release Date: 2009
Genre: Progressive Metal


1. Addicted! (05:36)
2. Universe In A Ball! (04:08)
3. Bend It Like Bender! (03:35)
4. Supercrush! (05:11)
5. Hyperdrive! (03:34)
6. Resolve! (03:11)
7. Ih-Ah! (03:44)
8. The Way Home! (03:13)
9. Numbered! (04:54)
10. Awake!!! (09:44)

Total Length: 46:49

Addicted! is kind of a misleading intro for the album, as this one is the ‘pop’ album with more commercial-type metal songs. Honestly my least favorite tracks on here are probably the first two. This one does have a cool bit that references the last track so it’s something you can only catch once you’ve heard the album a few times. I do also really like the guitar solo. Universe In A Ball! feels a bit repetitive but I don’t entirely mind it.

Bend It Like Bender! is fantastic, it’s the first real taste of fun on this album and Devin varies up the vocals a bit more. Supercrush! really focuses on the female vocals here, after appearing for the first time in the previous track. Pretty good song but what really sticks with me is near the end, the repetition of “You left me to die” and this is when I really feel the album steps up its game even more.

Hyperdrive! is a cover of the same track from Devin’s previous album, Ziltoid, and this time the lead vocals are by Anneke and it’s played in a different key. This made it really jarring the first time I heard it after being so in love with the original, but this one has grown on me and it makes hearing the original weird now. Resolve! is kind of odd and forgettable but I never forget listening to it. For me it is more the placeholder between the two halves of the album.

Ih-Ah! immediately goes into something a little more laid back and I absolutely love it. I cannot help but sing along with the chorus. The Way Home! is also a ton of fun, and a perfect example of how amazing Devin’s production is and how much it helps his work. In all honesty, this song would be good but not half as gripping without the amazing engineering and production. Numbered! is a bit of calm before the storm in my opinion. Still a heavy track but it doesn’t try to be fast or too crazy, it’s kind of lulling in a good way.

Awake!!! is the real masterpiece of the album, and makes the entire album worth listening to. The other tracks are good, but it’s all built up to this and it is so worth it. Devin’s soaring vocals are some of my favorite ever, and everything is brilliant. The album has been pretty non-stop so the long outro helps fade you out and calm you down. I really love this album, and just like Ki it took me a couple spins before I understood what Devin was trying to portray here. The focus here due to him splitting up the four albums works fantastically.

Final Rating: 9/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: