Album 0160: Thrice – The Illusion Of Safety

Release Date: 2002
Genre: Melodic Hardcore

Tracklisting:

1. Kill Me Quickly (02:47)
2. A Subtle Dagger (01:48)
3. See You In The Shallows (02:35)
4. Betrayal Is A Symptom (02:50)
5. Deadbolt (03:00)
6. In Years To Come (02:16)
7. The Red Death (02:15)
8. A Living Dance Upon Dead Minds (03:33)
9. Where Idols Once Stood (03:08)
10. Trust (02:55)
11. To Awake And Avenge The Dead (03:07)
12. So Strange I Remember You (03:42)
13. The Beltsville Crucible (04:38)

Total Length: 38:33

Kill Me Quickly gets into it fast enough, and is a rare instance where hardcore vocals work for me, at least in the intro. A Subtle Dagger has some great music, but I really don’t understand the vocals. It’s either overdriven and crap, or clean vocals that wouldn’t sound out of place on a worship record. They can’t find a middle ground I really enjoy. See You In The Shallows at least has some cool guitar riffs and melodies going on that I can focus on.

Betrayal Is A Symptom doesn’t really do much for me, it’s the same failings I’ve mentioned. Deadbolt is similar, except for near the end when the song suddenly ends and a solo piano leads the way out. A nice change of pace at least. In Years To Come continues the trend of the tracks, not really adding anything new for me. The Red Death fares the same. A Living Dance Upon Dead Minds and Where Idols Once Stood have some slower moments as well, they are alright.

Trust is pretty good, I enjoy the vocals at least for the first time in a while. To Awake And Avenge The Dead and So Strange I Remember You have some good moments. The Beltsville Crucible is a fairly good attempt at them trying out a bigger song. Like I’ve said with some other things I’ve listened to on here, I want to like this. I really do, but there isn’t a lot here for me. The vocals annoy me, and the songs all sound similar. It’s not bad, just not for me.

Final Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

