Album 0170: The Contortionist – Exoplanet

Release Date: 2010
Genre: Deathcore/Progressive Metal

Tracklisting:

1. Primal Directive (04:02)
2. Flourish (06:22)
3. Expire (03:45)
4. Contact (05:00)
5. Advent (03:17)
6. Vessel (04:57)
7. Oscillator (05:00)
8. Axiom (02:25)
9. Exoplanet I: Egress (04:12)
10. Exoplanet II: Void (03:33)
11. Exoplanet III: Light (05:46)

Total Length: 48:19

Primal Directive gets started right in the deathcore stuff, and the vocals are going to be a constant complaint for me with this album. If they aren’t clean vocals, they are probably terrible ‘-core’ vocals that aren’t melodic and just remind of other terrible bands. That said, the clean vocals are alright, and the music is pretty good in the second half of the song when the progressive influences start to show through. Flourish has pretty much the same trend. If it’s deathcore, I’m not entirely interested, but the sections that are not in that style are almost fantastic and I want these guys to do a whole album like it.

Expire is entirely in that style I dislike so I can’t rate it highly at all. Contact has a fantastic intro but then kind of falls off from there, overall only being a decent song. Advent has a couple neat moments as well, but doesn’t really do anything with them. Vessel is much the same, and the weird robotic vocals don’t help their case at all. Oscillator doesn’t start off well, but the majority of the song is an atmospheric section that builds up to a point and is worth it.

Axiom is a short instrumental and mostly acoustic. A great change of pace and again I wish these guys would just drop the crappy deathcore. Exoplanet is a suite of songs, starting with Egress which is honestly pretty good and I cannot stress how good these guys would be if they dropped the core. Void is decent, it’s all heavy and just not that interesting because you can’t do a ton with the riffs in that style. Light has a good intro and end, don’t particularly care for the middle. I don’t hate this as much as I did the first time I heard it. I don’t think I’m really getting acclimated to the style, just less inclined to get upset about it and focusing on the parts that I do actually like. But in the end, I consider this album kind of a missed opportunity.

Final Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

