Album 0178: Pain Of Salvation – One Hour By The Concrete Lake


Release Date: 1998
Genre: Progressive Metal


1. Spirit Of The Land (00:43)
2. Part Of The Machine: I. Inside (06:12)
3. Part Of The Machine: II. The Big Machine (04:21)
4. Part Of The Machine: III. New Year’s Eve (05:43)
5. Spirit Of Man: I. Handful Of Nothing (05:40)
6. Spirit Of Man: II. Water (05:06)
7. Spirit Of Man: III. Home (05:49)
8. Karachay: I. Black Hills (06:33)
9. Karachay: II. Pilgrim (03:18)
10. Karachay: III. Shore Serenity (03:14)
11. Karachay: IV. Inside Out (12:18)
12. Beyond The Mirror (08:29)
13. Timeweaver’s Tale (06:22)

Total Length: 01:13:48

Spirit Of The Land is a nice intro, but I’m not entirely sure why it had to be its own track, as it fades right into Inside. Inside is pretty fantastic, the band’s use of synths is really cool, and I just love their sense of rhythm. The spoken word section kind of kills the pace of the song, but I understand that it is necessary for the story they are trying to tell. The Big Machine isn’t quite as impressive, but still a very solid song with some very neat vocals during the chorus. Wish they would do something like it more often.

New Year’s Eve has some cool things going on, but at the same time it doesn’t entirely stick with me. I don’t think of random melodies from this track in my head. Handful Of Nothing is very cool, a bit more ‘prog metal’ than other stuff they have done, but the band still inserts their own style into it. Water is incredibly cool. It features some great synth moments and a recurring theme in the album, just good stuff all around. Home is also good, but by this point in the album I have to feel that the songs start to blend together a bit.

Black Hills starts off pretty decently, but has an awesome instrumental section from about halfway on that is a highlight of the album for me. Pilgrim is softer and I really love it, it’s cheesy in all the right ways. Shore Serenity is kind of basic until the ending which features some really cool synth stuff. Inside Out is great for the first half of the track’s length, just really great metal. The second half was kind of used as padding in the non-bonus track version of the album so that it could be exactly 60 minutes, and it gets kind of boring.

Beyond The Mirror is pretty fantastic, I love the main riff. Very solid song. Timeweaver’s Tale is similarly great. I just adore the harpsichord sound throughout the song. I really do enjoy this album, despite a misgiving here or there. I have no idea how it’s Daniel Gildenlöw’s least favorite PoS album, it’s incredibly consistent and there isn’t a single ‘bad’ song on here.

Final Rating: 9/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: