Album 0179: Watchout! There’s Ghosts – Ghost Town

wotg075

Release Date: 2009
Genre: Electropop

Tracklisting:

1. I’ll Take Famous Murders For 500 (03:25)
2. Never You (03:44)
3. The Shake Up (03:00)
4. I Ruin Dreams, Not Nightmares (03:47)
5. Makin’ Moves (03:02)
6. A Beautiful Goodbye (04:09)
7. Don’t Shoot Me Annie Oakley (04:32)
8. Ghost Town (03:57)
9. Sleeping At The Movies (04:26)
10. Remember Me, Oh God, For Good (06:53)

Total Length: 40:53

I’ll Take Famous Murders For 500 has some terrible vocals (this holds true for the entire album) but some nice synthwork and melodies. Never You introduces some stupid hardcore vocals and heaviness to the mix, and it is handled terribly. The rest of the song is the same reaction as the previous track. The Shake Up is just strange. I don’t know if this band is in transition, or these guys really wanted to sound like this from the start.

I Ruin Dreams, Not Nightmares leaves me feeling even more confused. I’m always up for weird combinations of genres, but that doesn’t mean they always work well. This band does not work well, at least for my tastes. Someone who likes this… I wanted to say ‘crap’ but I’ll hold myself back. Someone who likes this stuff will enjoy it, but to me it’s about the stupidest thing I’ve heard recently. Makin’ Moves actually has almost a decent chorus.

A Beautiful Goodbye is actually almost good, I still have issues with the vocals but the song itself isn’t too bad. Don’t Shoot Me Annie Oakley just makes me laugh because their harsh vocals are so terrible. Ghost Town is pretty basic. Sleeping At The Movies is much the same. Remember Me, Oh God, For Good is as well. I am just really not fond of this album and only listened to it as a request. I will honestly never listen to it again by choice.

Final Rating: 4/10

Leave a Reply

