Album 0181: Star Fucking Hipsters – From The Dumpster To The Grave

SFH-FTDTTG

Release Date: 2011
Genre: Crack Rock Steady

Tracklisting:

1. Intro (00:30)
2. Dumpster To The Grave (02:18)
3. War Widows Vietnam (02:54)
4. Death Is Never Out Of Fashion (02:42)
5. The Broken Branches (03:05)
6. The Spoils Of War (00:34)
7. ¡Otra Vez! (02:33)
8. Honey, I Shrunk The Cops! (02:09)
9. 9/11 ‘Til Infinity (02:56)
10. Ana Ng (02:22)
11. Rapture, Rinse, Repeat (02:18)
12. Drowning Out Another Year (03:54)
13. Outro (01:29)

Total Length: 29:43

Intro is just what it says, just a useless intro. Dumpster To The Grave is a cool combination of ska and hardcore punk. I actually enjoy Stza’s vocals for once, and the other vocals on here are good too. War Widows Vietnam is a fairly good track as well. Death Is Never Out Of Fashion has a pretty good chorus and is more poppy than I would expect from this band. The Broken Branches is definitely awesome, I really like it. The Spoils Of War is a decent, short metal track. The band doesn’t too well on the metal front.

¡Otra Vez! reminds me of The Suicide Machines, which is almost always a good thing. The chorus especially sounds exactly like one of their songs on their first album. Honey, I Shrunk The Cops! is decent, it doesn’t really do much for me. 9/11 ‘Til Infinity has some pretty cool music and vocal lines even if I don’t care for the lyrics. Ana Ng is a They Might Be Giants cover, an odd song to include on this album of all things. They play it pretty well though.

Rapture, Rinse, Repeat is simply okay. They try to get all heavy and anything, but as already established, their metal just doesn’t work too well, nor their harsher vocals. Drowning Out Another Year is fairly good and nearly pop-punk. Outro is a dumb parody or something of Bob Dylan. It’s useless. I like this album more than I remembered liking it, but again I just tend not to pay attention to the lyrics, just because I’m not a big fan of hearing political stuff in music, though I know some people are.

Final Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

