Album 0184: Guttermouth – Covered With Ants

Guttermouth-CWA

Release Date: 2001
Genre: Punk

Tracklisting:

1. That’s Life (03:01)
2. Can I Borrow Some Ambition? (02:19)
3. Secure Horizons (02:50)
4. She’s Got The Look (02:42)
5. Looking Good Is All That Matters (02:11)
6. I’m Destroying The World (01:59)
7. Chug-A-Lug Night (03:39)
8. What You Like About Me (03:04)
9. I Won’t See You In The Pit (01:10)
10. Black Enforcers (02:11)
11. Cram It Up Your Ass (06:37)

Total Length: 31:43

That’s Life is a fairly neat song that took me a few listens to get into. It’s not what you’d normally expect from the band, but has a good main riff and some neat moments. Can I Borrow Some Ambition? is a bit more pop-punk, it’s decent and has some cool vocals. Secure Horizons has some fun moments, and ends with a neat foreshadowing of the final track. She’s Got The Look definitely adds some pop elements and it works well and is kind of funny. I enjoy it in almost a guilty pleasure way.

Looking Good Is All That Matters has a cool chorus and good lyrics. I’m Destroying The World is by far the best song on the album, featuring a violin and banjo and the best lyrics on the album. I could listen to this song on repeat for an hour and be pleased. Chug-A-Lug Night is neat and sounds like a fun bar song. What You Like About Me is kind of nice. I Won’t See You In The Pit is a pretty nice, fast little song.

Black Enforcers is really cool and kind of sounds like another band that I can’t quite a name. I like the galloping feeling throughout. Cram It Up Your Ass is unique and odd and actually only lasts about 80 seconds. The remaining five minutes of the track is a bunch of random piano playing based around the main melody. It’s kind of like them telling you to turn the album off. This is a fairly short, fun album that I didn’t entirely like at first. I still have issues with it, but I get a bit more what they were going for.

Final Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

