Album 0211: MC Chris – MC Chris Goes To Hell

MC Chris Goes To Hell

Release Date: 2010
Genre: Rap/Nerdcore

Tracklisting:

1. Sam-E (04:10)
2. IG-88’s ’57 Chevy (02:26)
3. Drinkin’ Blunts (02:28)
4. Awesome Fucker (02:18)
5. 006 (04:15)
6. Neville (02:40)
7. Japanese Maid (02:54)
8. Dengar’s Dumptruck (03:41)
9. Emo Party (02:23)
10. Potato Cakes (03:17)
11. Distant Lands (02:27)
12. Lowercase (01:56)
13. Smackababy (03:22)
14. Bossk On A Segway (02:27)
15. Race Wars (04:50)
16. I Heart Drugs (03:07)
17. Han Solo (03:18)
18. Cartoon Theme (00:33)
19. Twin Peaks (03:21)

Total Length: 55:52

Sam-E is a skit that opens the album, and it sucks. I’m not a fan of skits, especially when they are drawn out like this. IG-88’s ’57 Chevy is kind of fun, the lyrics are neat and the chorus is interesting. Drinkin’ Blunts is decent, the rhythm is fun but the lyrics are, frankly, retarded. Awesome Fucker is the same thing. The lyrics are unnecessarily vulgar. I don’t mean to say they offend me, it’s just that I don’t really see why they need to be. 006 is literally in the exact same vein.

Neville is a lot better though. Enjoyable lyrics make all the difference. Japanese Maid is just odd, I don’t know what he was thinking with these lyrics. Dengar’s Dumptruck is just not that interesting overall. Emo Party is a decent track I suppose. Potato Cakes is kind of neat but I don’t really get why it needs to be insulting. Distant Lands is alright but not necessarily bad. Lowercase is the same idea, I don’t really get what I’m supposed to take from it.

Smackababy has a fun chorus at least. Bossk On A Segway is also kind of fun at least. Race Wars is another skit, and we’ve established my opinion on those. The last four tracks are some random singles that Chris released around this time, and I just went ahead and appended them on to the end here. I Heart Drugs is… sort of a Kesha parody but it’s very lazy and just changed the chorus. Han Solo is also a parody, it’s fun. Cartoon Theme is what the title says, it’s a short little theme and it’s simply okay. Twin Peaks is based on the show, and is by far the best track on here, and it’s not even part of the main album. I don’t know if my bias against rap makes me dislike this album, or if it is just mostly boring. Probably both.

Final Rating: 5/10

Leave a Reply

