Album 0215: Karnivool – Sound Awake

Karnivool-Sound_Awake-Frontal

Release Date: 2009
Genre: Progressive Rock/Metal

Tracklisting:

1. Simple Boy (05:47)
2. Goliath (04:38)
3. New Day (08:21)
4. Set Fire To The Hive (04:28)
5. Umbra (07:51)
6. All I Know (04:54)
7. The Medicine Wears Off (01:50)
8. The Caudal Lure (06:16)
9. Illumine (05:13)
10. Deadman/Change (Part 1) (12:04)
11. Change (Part 2) (10:47)

Total Length: 01:12:08

Simple Boy starts off with a cool vibraphone intro, and the main riff is hypnotizing. The chorus is great, it’s a very good start to the album. Goliath has more of an alt/nu metal feel, which I’m not really fond of. It gives me that same uneasy feeling that stoner and grunge rock does, and I don’t know why. This is a decent song though. New Day is pretty fantastic, the intro and chorus is great. There are a few boring moments, but the other bits make up for it.

Set Fire To The Hive has the same issue as track two for me, it’s just kind of unpleasant to listen to. Umbra is a bit better, but still not as catchy as some of the other tracks. All I Know has some neat moments but once the song is over I have forgotten about it entirely. The Medicine Wears Off is a nice little song that works well on its own and as an intro for the next track. The Caudal Lure has a pretty good chorus at least, but the song is a tad lengthy.

Illumine really doesn’t have anything that catches my ear. Deadman is a pretty large song. It’s enjoyable, with the chorus again being the highlight. The last two minutes of the track is Change (Part 1) which has some neat vibraphone usage. Change (Part 2) has some really cool moments as well. I like the acoustic section, the “halo hollow” line gets stuck in my head very easily, and a certain section reminded me of Shpongle. In the end though, I can’t really say I love this album. I had hoped it would grow on me over time, but I still only really enjoyed like three of the songs. I just really don’t like that alt metal feeling that is very prevalent.

Final Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

