Album 0218: Franz Ferdinand – You Could Have It So Much Better

FranzFerdinand-YCHISMB

Release Date: 2005
Genre: Indie Rock

Tracklisting:

1. The Fallen (03:42)
2. Do You Want To (03:35)
3. This Boy (02:22)
4. Walk Away (03:36)
5. Evil And A Heathen (02:06)
6. You’re The Reason I’m Leaving (02:47)
7. Eleanor Put Your Boots On (02:50)
8. Well That Was Easy (03:02)
9. What You Meant (03:25)
10. I’m Your Villain (04:04)
11. You Could Have It So Much Better (02:42)
12. Fade Together (03:03)
13. Outsiders (04:03)
14. Your Diary (03:11)
15. Fabulously Lazy (02:57)
16. What You Meant (acoustic) (02:55)

Total Length: 50:19

The Fallen has a great little intro, and the bass and fun atmosphere is a fantastic start to the album. There are some rare times where I tire of the song, but it’s generally pleasant to listen to. Do You Want To is a bit more dancey, and as usual with lead singles from albums I find them to be weaker tracks on the album, and this is no exception. Still enjoyable though. This Boy is a better track for example. It knows exactly how long to last, the main riff sticks with you a lot more, and I like the chorus a touch more.

Walk Away has some neat keyboard sounds going on in the background and a memorable chorus. It’s a slightly softer track after the first few, and I enjoy that slight breather. Evil And A Heathen is a fun short track. These songs on average are shorter than ones from their first album, but I don’t like them quite as much. You’re The Reason I’m Leaving has some neat melodies in it. Eleanor Put Your Boots On is a song I’ve talked about on here before. I kind of prefer this one to the single version, it just seems a bit more personal.

Well That Was Easy is kind of jarring after the last track, but still enjoyable. What You Meant kind of sounds like a generic indie track of the time, but I don’t really feel strongly about it one way or the other. I’m Your Villain has a really cool main riff and is one of my favorite tracks. You Could Have It So Much Better is an odd song that I’ve never really liked, and so I don’t really get why it was picked as the title of the album. I did like the title better when it had “…With Franz Ferdinand” tacked on at the end.

Fade Together is another softer track, and I like it and its calm atmoshpere. Outsiders kind of returns to the dance style, but does it a whole lot better than the other tracks. The synth backing helps this, and the vocal lines just make me want to sing along. The last few tracks are bonuses, I can’t remember where I took them from but I’ve considered most of them part of the album since it was first released so I’m adding them on. Your Diary isn’t terribly great, the chorus is the real stand out.

Fabulously Lazy is in the same vein. The buildup to the chorus and the chorus itself are enchanting, but the rest of the song feels very boring. What You Meant is in an acoustic variety this time, and is a rare case where I might prefer the acoustic version. My problem with the main version was that is just sounded pretty basic, and this version at least does something different with it. Despite a complaint here or there, this is a strong album with not a whole lot of downfalls. I may not prefer to some of the band’s other albums, but I never regret listening to it.

Final Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

