Album 0220: Kamelot – Epica


Release Date: 2003
Genre: Power Metal


1. Prologue (01:07)
2. Center Of The Universe (05:27)
3. Farewell (03:41)
4. Interlude I: Opiate Soul (01:10)
5. The Edge Of Paradise (04:10)
6. Wander (04:24)
7. Interlude II: Omen (00:41)
8. Descent Of The Archangel (04:36)
9. Interlude III: At The Banquet (00:31)
10. A Feast For The Vain (03:57)
11. On The Coldest Winter Night (04:04)
12. Lost & Damned (04:55)
13. Helena’s Theme (01:51)
14. Interlude IV: Dawn (00:28)
15. The Mourning After (Carry On) (04:59)
16. III Ways To Epica (06:15)
17. Snow (04:22)

Total Length: 56:37

Prologue works as an atmospheric piece, but otherwise doesn’t do much for me. Center Of The Universe is a fantastic opening track though. Catchy and memorable, it’s easy to love this song. Farewell has a great chorus as well, and the song is highly enjoyable. Interlude I: Opiate Soul is a nice short piece, I like the choral vocals, and how it leads directly into The Edge Of Paradise. This song is fairly good, I enjoy the main riff and the chorus but some other moments don’t do much for me.

Wander is an okay ballad, the band has done better ones but this is still nice. Interlude II: Omen is another okay atmospheric piece, for once I don’t see why this couldn’t have been appended to the end of the last track. Descent Of The Archangel is okay but honestly a bit boring after getting most of the way through it. Interlude III: At The Banquet is fairly useless as well. A Feast For The Vain has some fun moments in it, though the vocal effect to differentiate the two characters Roy Khan is playing gets old after a while.

On The Coldest Winter Night is a much better ballad, and one of my favorites from this album. Lost & Damned is great as well, if only on the strength of its chorus. Helena’s Theme is a nice little change of pace, pretty symphonic and the female vocals are nice. Interlude IV: Dawn is necessary for the story but useless musically. The Mourning After (Carry On) is a fantastic track to help the end of the album. Everything about it is great.

III Ways To Epica is a bigger song that does at least keep me interested the whole way through and has some neat moments. Snow is a bonus track, and a pretty nice one at that. The album sort of drags a bit in the middle for me, but the end picks it up quite nicely. I am still not as big on Kamelot as some people are, but this is a very solid album that I’m never really, truly bored of.

Final Rating: 7.5/10

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: