Album 0229: Sirenia – Nine Destinies And A Downfall

Sirenia - Nine Destinies And A Downfall (2007)

Release Date: 2007
Genre: Gothic Metal

Tracklisting:

1. The Last Call (04:45)
2. My Mind’s Eye (03:38)
3. One By One (05:30)
4. Sundown (05:05)
5. Absent Without Leave (04:54)
6. The Other Side (03:55)
7. Seven Keys And Nine Doors (04:56)
8. Downfall (04:44)
9. Glades Of Summer (05:36)
10. My Mind’s Eye (radio edit) (03:15)

Total Length: 46:19

The Last Call is a strong opening track. I quite like the female vocals here, and the main riff works well in conjunction. This type of metal is one I really, really like in concept but the execution can definitely be flawed easily. My Mind’s Eye has a solid chorus, but the rest of the song kind of passes by without me realizing it. One By One has some neat vocal moments but otherwise doesn’t do too much for me. Sundown has this album’s first use of harsh vocals, and they are a nice change of pace and help the song stand out.

Absent Without Leave is pretty similar to all the tracks so far, and it blends together and makes the song bland. The Other Side has some good vocal moments though, I especially like the choral stuff on this track. Seven keys And Nine Doors tries to be a bigger song but honestly kind of bores me. Downfall has some nice moments in it at least. Glades Of Summer is a fairly good ending track. It tries something ever so slightly different.

The radio edit of My Mind’s Eye is only about 20 seconds shorter, almost not worth the difference, but it’s still a fine song. I said that statement at the beginning about this genre because it holds true on this album. I really like the first few songs on here, but after about halfway through the album I start to lose track of solid ground. I can’t decide whether or not I like a song because it sounds the same as the others or just plain doesn’t interest me. I had hoped that this one would grow on me over time, but I’m not so sure it has in any manner.

Final Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

