Album 0238: The Books – Thoughts For Food

The Books - thought-for-food

Release Date: 2002
Genre: Electronic/Folk

Tracklisting:

1. Enjoy Your Worries, You May Never Have Them Again (04:06)
2. Read, Eat, Sleep (03:47)
3. All Bad Ends All (02:42)
4. Contempt (03:21)
5. All Our Base Are Belong To Them (04:19)
6. Thankyoubranch (05:05)
7. Motherless Bastard (04:11)
8. Mikey Bass (02:53)
9. Excess Straussess (02:06)
10. Getting The Job Done (03:49)
11. A Dead Fish Gains The Power Of Observation (01:07)
12. Deafkids (01:10)

Total Length: 38:36

Enjoy Your Worries, You May Never Have Them Again builds up very well, and I enjoy the atmosphere. Oddly, the prominent sample in the middle is something I heard very recently, even though I haven’t listened to this album in months. I wonder if it was used somewhere else or if I’m just going crazy. Read, Eat, Sleep has a really good section in the middle that is pretty ethereal. All Bad Ends All has a great first half, but it falls apart for me in the second half.

Contempt isn’t too great to me, seems a bit too experimental. All Our Base Are Belong To Them has an annoying intro, but the rest of the song is fine. Thankyoubranch is a bit more upbeat than the previous songs, but ends nice and calmly. Motherless Bastard has some nice string usage in it. I enjoy it pretty well. Mikey Bass is a lot of fun, involving bass as the title implies. Excess Straussess is I suppose a pun based on the strings being used in the track. It’s a neat little piece.

Getting The Job Done has a really neat section in it with fun vocals, it’s happy and nice to hear. A Dead Fish Gains The Power Of Observation is quite strange and really does nothing for me. Deafkids has a neat rhythm so I’m not sure why they cut it off after only a minute. This is an odd album that I really didn’t understand at first, but I’m coming around to it. I still have issues with it that I can’t quite fully form into words though. Maybe eventually I’ll figure it out.

Final Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

