Album 0244: My Chemical Romance – The Black Parade

MyChemicalRomance-TheBlackParade

Release Date: 2006
Genre: Indie Rock

Tracklisting:

1. The End. (01:53)
2. Dead! (03:16)
3. This Is How I Disappear (03:59)
4. The Sharpest Lives (03:21)
5. Welcome To The Black Parade (05:11)
6. I Don’t Love You (03:59)
7. House Of Wolves (03:04)
8. Cancer (02:23)
9. Mama (04:39)
10. Sleep (04:43)
11. Teenagers (02:42)
12. Disenchanted (04:55)
13. Famous Last Words (04:59)
14. Blood (02:54)

Total Length: 51:57

The End. opens the album insanely well. It gives all the different vibes this album shows, and the band has their own identity while you can spot clear influences, most notable for me being Queen. The transition into Dead! is great as well, which is a fast, fun song. It’s ridiculously catchy and simply by listening to it right now it will stuck in my head for the next couple of days. This Is How I Disappear isn’t quite as good, being more standard pop punk fare, but it has some neat moments in it.

The Sharpest Lives has a good chorus at least, but the rest of the song isn’t fantastic. Welcome To The Black Parade brings back the Queen influence and adds some Beatles as well. It’s a bombastic track that takes you in a couple different directions, I quite enjoy it. I Don’t Love You is fairly emotional, I enjoy the song and the highs and lows of it. House Of Wolves is a fairly fun song, it doesn’t annoy me too much. Cancer takes a minute to get going in, but once again I really like the Queen influence.

Mama is a big indie rock song, and the vocals and lyrics in particular stand out to me. Sleep is a fairly good song, but kind of forgettable. I enjoy it while it’s on but never go out of my way to listen to it. Teenagers is pretty fun, the chorus is by far the best part of the whole thing. Disenchanted is kind of nice, but the song goes on too long for me and the very very end doesn’t work well for me. Famous Last Words also goes on a bit long, but has some nice moments in it. Blood is sort of a hidden track, as half the track length is silence. It’s a nice little piece, though I’m not sure about its significance. I haven’t entirely followed the story on this album, but it all flows well together and there are few hiccups on this album.

Final Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

