Album 0260: Korpiklaani – Spirit Of The Forest


Release Date: 2003
Genre: Folk Metal


1. Wooden Pints (03:42)
2. Before The Morning Sun (04:25)
3. God Of Wind (03:15)
4. With Trees (08:07)
5. Pellonpekko (03:36)
6. You Looked Into My Eyes (02:15)
7. Hullunhumppa (01:30)
8. Man Can Go Even Through The Grey Stone (02:23)
9. Pixies Dance (02:20)
10. Juokse Sinä Humma (Keep Running, My Horse) (01:16)
11. Crows Bring The Spring (05:26)
12. Hengettömiltä Hengiltä (From The Spirits Of The Dead) (00:35)
13. Shaman Drum (04:58)
14. Mother Earth (04:36)

Total Length: 48:21

Wooden Pints starts off with a good riff and stays pretty enjoyable throughout. The bridge is a nice break, but not necessarily anything different. Before The Morning Sun is a lot more upbeat and fun, I really like the bridge. God Of Wind has a great chorus and main riff, pretty much the things I love about Korpiklaani. With Trees is a longer track that takes its time to build up. They don’t really do too many songs like this anymore which is too bad as this song is very good. I also really enjoy the woodwind usage.

Pellonpekko is an instrumental, and a pretty great one. Just simply well done. You Looked Into My Eyes is a fun shorter track, I like the chorus. Hullunhumppa is a fun little instrumental track with a polka flair. Man Can Go Even Through The Grey Stone is pretty cheesy, but I enjoy it. Pixies Dance is another fun, upbeat instrumental track. Always nice. Juokse Sinä Humma continues directly from the previous track, still keeping up the tone and pace. Their instrumentals are always above average.

Crows Bring The Spring is fairly good, but simply not as engaging as the previous few tracks. Hengettömiltä Hengiltä is a tiny little track, not much more than a neat interlude. Shaman Drum seems to be a call back to the band’s previous name, Shaman, and it’s a bit different in style. I like it well enough but it doesn’t entirely catch me. Mother Earth is a bit slower paced, more focused on the folk aspect and a lot better overall. I wasn’t too impressed by this album at first, but now I’ve come to realize that it’s a solid work and pleasant to listen through with no really bad parts.

Final Rating: 7.5/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: