Album 0263: Lovage – Music To Make Love To Your Old Lady By

Lovage-MTMLTYOLB

Release Date: 2001
Genre: Trip Hop

Tracklisting:

1. Ladies Love Chest Rockwell (Introduction) (01:19)
2. Pit Stop (Take Me Home) (03:56)
3. Anger Management (04:18)
4. Everyone Has A Summer (04:17)
5. To Catch A Thief (03:17)
6. Lies And Alibis (03:16)
7. Herbs, Good Hygiene, And Socks (01:55)
8. Book Of The Month (04:29)
9. Lifeboat (04:46)
10. Strangers On A Train (04:37)
11. Lovage (Love That Lovage, Baby) (01:05)
12. Sex (I’m A) (06:20)
13. Koala’s Lament (03:54)
14. Tea Time With Maseo (01:39)
15. Stroker Ace (04:29)
16. Archie And Veronica (06:06)

Total Length: 59:42

Ladies Love Chest Rockwell (Introduction) is kind of a tongue-in-cheek intro, it’s a parody but I still don’t really like it. Pit Stop (Take Me Home) has a nice, relaxing vibe and the vocals are the highlight for me. Anger Management seems to have a big influence by singer Mike Patton, as it actually reminds me of a Mr. Bungle song, especially in the chorus. For that alone I like it. Everyone Has A Summer is a fairly nice instrumental, but it gives off this trashy vibe that I don’t like and can’t really explain.

To Catch A Thief is pretty nice. That vibe is still there, but the vocals are nice and help offset it. Lies And Alibis is like the track before the last. I like this one better though. Herbs, Good Hygiene, And Socks is a very annoying interlude. I usually skip it entirely. Book Of The Month is a pretty good song, again I enjoy the vocals. Lifeboat has some neat moments but ends up being kind of forgettable. Strangers On A Train is kind of great, I very much like the vocals.

Lovage (Love That Lovage, Baby) is mostly useless, but I like the musical reference. Sex (I’m A) is actually a cover by a group named Berlin, and I don’t entirely understand the song but I’m gonna say that I like it. Koala’s Lament is a fairly nice vocal-less track. Tea Time With Maseo is the last of the interludes, still doesn’t do crap for me. Stroker Ace is kind of upbeat and fun, kind of different from most of the stuff on here. Archie And Veronica is fairly nice, and ends with a reprise of track two. This album seems to have received a lot of praise, and I am pretty sure I can see why. I’m still warming up to it after listening to it nearly a dozen times but I still think it’s not quite my thing.

Final Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

