Album 0271: Pink Floyd – A Saucerful Of Secrets

Pink Floyd - A Saucerful Of Secrets - Front

Release Date: 1968
Genre: Psychedelic/Progressive Rock

Tracklisting:

1. Let There Be More Light (05:38)
2. Remember A Day (04:33)
3. Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun (05:28)
4. Corporal Clegg (04:13)
5. A Saucerful Of Secrets

    I. Something Else
    II. Syncopated Pandemonium
    III. Storm Signal
    IV. Celestial Voices (11:57)

6. See-Saw (04:37)
7. Jugband Blues (03:01)

Total Length: 39:25

Let There Be More Light is a powerful opening song and I’m not entirely sure why I disregarded it for so long. The intro bass line is amazing and catchy, and the main part of the song has extremely cool vocals and a haunting chorus. Simply great. Remember A Day is a bit more standard fare. It feels to me like a blueprint psychedelic song. I don’t mind listening to it but it’s not my favorite. Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun is very subdued and psychedelic, and took me a long time to get into. I finally think I understand and it’s kind of entrancing.

Corporal Clegg is a fun weird song. It’s mostly this funny rhythm with slighty comical vocals, and to top it all off there is a kazoo solo. Kind of out of place on the album, especially considering the two songs it goes between, but it works well on its own and I enjoy the song. A Saucerful Of Secrets has the first few minutes be a terrifying trip through… something. Basically lots of scary noises and effects, it works well. It all suddenly stops and we get a strange assortment of instruments and rhythms. It ends with an organ and some choral vocals. I don’t entirely get what they were going for but I can’t say this track is bad.

See-Saw is a bit more… “normal” but I don’t really enjoy the track too much. It just doesn’t really do anything and is almost stranger than the previous track. Jugband Blues is strange as well, but that’s explained as it being a Syd Barrett song. I like the chorus and the kazoos make a small reappearance which is neat. In general I definitely prefer side A but this whole album is mostly strong points. I just don’t entirely get the title track and two of the songs seem too generic to me.

Final Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

