Album 0273: Negură Bunget – Vîrstele Pămîntului

negurabunget-Vîrstele Pămîntului

Release Date: 2010
Genre: Folk/Black Metal

Tracklisting:

1. Pămînt (Earth) (06:58)
2. Dacia Hiperboreană (Hyperborean Dacia) (08:52)
3. Umbra (Shadow) (03:32)
4. Ochiul Inimii (Heart’s Eye) (08:05)
5. Chei De Rouă (Fountain Of Dew) (05:51)
6. Ţara De Dincolo De Negură (The Land Beyond The Fog) (05:54)
7. Jar (Embers) (04:29)
8. Arborele Lumii (World’s Tree) (07:37)
9. Întoarcerea Amurgului (Twilight’s Return) (08:22)

Total Length: 59:40

Pămînt starts off slowly, building up the atmosphere that encompasses the whole album. The use of pan flutes is fantastic, and the only thing I can knock off this intro is some of the percussion seeming randomly placed. I don’t know what the voice over means at all but it sounds nice once it turns into more of a chant. The black metal section to finish this off is quite wonderful. Dacia Hiperboreană has a wonderful opening, it’s quite lovely. There are even what feels like some post-rock elements in this and I almost always love those in black metal.

Umbra is an instrumental, and a very good one. It kind of reminds me of a movie soundtrack a bit, I really like the percussion in it. Ochiul Inimii has a kind of creepy atmosphere and some really cool points with woodwinds. Just a very strong song. Chei De Rouă has a great mix of vocals and some fun guitar work/riffs. So far this album kind of fills a dual thing for me. I can listen intently and catch new things, but it’s also got that feeling I love where I can zone out and get lost in it during a rainy afternoon.

Ţara De Dincolo De Negură has some of that same atmosphere, there is just simply a ton of neat things going on in this track. Jar is a short instrumental but it doesn’t really work for me. It sounds nice but is unnecessary. Arborele Lumii is nearly straight up heaviness, it’s a nice change of pace of sorts, and a great song. Întoarcerea Amurgului is in the same style as the rest of the album and works well. I kind of wish the album had a slightly ‘bigger’ ending. Like I said I can get lost in this, BUT, and this is a slightly big but, there is still something about Negură Bunget that is off-putting and so I have to be in a certain mood for it.

Final Rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

