Album 0277: Operation Ivy – Operation Ivy

4PGFLDR.QXD (Page 1)

Release Date: 1987/1988/1989/1991
Genre: Ska Punk/Hardcore

Tracklisting:

1. Knowledge (01:42)
2. Sound System (02:14)
3. Jaded (01:51)
4. Take Warning (02:44)
5. The Crowd (02:11)
6. Bombshell (01:04)
7. Unity (02:14)
8. Vulnerability (02:00)
9. Bankshot (01:33)
10. One Of These Days (01:07)
11. Gonna Find You (01:54)
12. Bad Town (02:35)
13. Smiling (01:47)
14. Caution (01:28)
15. Freeze Up (02:20)
16. Artificial Life (02:05)
17. Room Without A Window (01:32)
18. Big City (02:17)
19. Missionary (02:07)
20. Junkie’s Runnin’ Dry (02:06)
21. Here We Go Again (02:05)
22. Hoboken (01:12)
23. Yellin’ In My Ear (01:33)
24. Sleep Long (02:08)
25. Healthy Body (01:41)
26. Officer (01:59)
27. I Got No (01:16)

Total Length: 50:47

Note: Tracks 1-19 are from the band’s 1989 album Energy. Tracks 20-25 are from the 1988 EP Hectic. Tracks 26 and 27 are from a compilation called Turn It Around! that the band was on in 1987.

Knowledge is a strong opening song with a catchy chorus. That said, it definitely presents the problems I personally have with this band’s style, namely that I’m not a huge hardcore fan. Sound System has more of a ska influence which is nice but the bridge kind of brings down the energy of the track. Jaded is a strong track though, the first that I like wholly. Take Warning is really great though. A slower track with a pretty vocal message and I like the rhythm.

The Crowd has a great chorus which in this case helps me enjoy the whole song. Bombshell is a decent little song but I don’t get much out of it. Unity is a classic song by the band, and I’ve heard it so many times in a few different versions that it’s got a place in my head. Vulnerability has a bit of emotion in it (or at least it’s more present) and I really enjoy it for that. Bankshot is mostly an instrumental, and it’s quite fun and upbeat.

One Of These Days is a cover (or rather a piece of one) and kind of odd in that respect, but kind of fun. Gonna Find You is cool. I like that it’s more about juvenile misdeeds rather than songs about fighting the authority or ‘pigs’. Bad Town has a nice use of saxophone but the lyrics are strange to me. I like the change of pace for this track. Smiling has some more lyrics that are less abrasive and it ends up being a decent song.

Caution is repetitive and I’m not a big fan of it. Freeze Up is a bit better, but I don’t care for it either way. Artificial Life is the same deal, it just means nothing to me. Room Without A Window has a cool intro, and does pretty well overall. Big City however gets back to the ‘meh’ side of things. Missionary is similar, this last section of the main album kind of ends poorly, in my opinion.

Junkie’s Runnin’ Dry has a decent chorus but that’s about the most positive thing I can say about. Here We Go Again has some neat moments in it, I don’t mind it. Hoboken has a cool vocal line that sticks with you. Yellin’ In My Ear is a fun little ska track. It’s nothing special, but it’s enjoyable. Sleep Long has a fairly good chorus, and the song works kind of well.

Healthy Body has a great chorus, and I just like the song overall. Officer is okay, the music isn’t too interesting to me. I Got No is catchy and a nice end to this compilation. In the end though, this music isn’t entirely for me. I like some of it but most of the lyrics and music is just not for me, and there is a tone or attitude about it that I don’t quite enjoy.

Final Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

