Album 0298: Tool – 10,000 Days

Tool-10000Days

Release Date: 2006
Genre: Progressive Metal

Tracklisting:

1. Vicarious (07:07)
2. Jambi (07:29)
3. Wings For Marie (Pt 1) (06:11)
4. 10,000 Days (Wings Pt 2) (11:14)
5. The Pot (06:22)
6. Lipan Conjuring (01:11)
7. Lost Keys (Blame Hojmann) (03:46)
8. Rosetta Stoned (11:11)
9. Intension (07:21)
10. Right In Two (08:56)
11. Viginti Tres (05:03)

Total Length: 01:15:50

Vicarious has a really cool opening, catchy and nice. The buildup to the main riff coming in is great too. Pretty great track. Jambi quickly introduces my main problem with the band: all of it sounds the same. They could just make a single long track and change the riffs every once in a while and I don’t think it would end up being too much different. I also don’t really like the guitar solo in this song, but it’s nice otherwise.

Wings For Marie (Pt 1) is pretty neat. I like the buildup and the sparse use of heaviness. 10,000 Days (Wings Pt 2) is I guess the song where I get kind of kicked in the pants for my complaint the earlier. This song is fairly different, the dream-like quality is great and I love the weather effects placed in most of the song. It’s good on its own and by virtue of being a different song from the first couple tracks.

The Pot doesn’t really offer anything new for me, but it’s not bad. Lipan Conjuring is a strange little piece. Kind of meanders in the melody area but I think it does what it’s supposed to. Lost Keys (Blame Hofmann) is an atmospheric thing, which has a “nurse” and “doctor” talking throughout it. Kind of works but I also sort of don’t care. Rosetta Stoned is the other ‘big’ song on here. The opening riff is neat but the vocals are distorted and in my opinion not very good. The song has a lot of cool stuff otherwise though.

Intension is a calmer piece, a nice break from the heavy long track. Not sure how I feel about the electronic drums used on it though. Right In Two has some cool stuff in the backhalf but it almost takes a bit too long to get there. Viginti Tres is entirely atmospheric, lots of subdued things going on. As its own track I wouldn’t be too interested but after the album that came before it it’s kind of nice and signifies the end. I think I like this album, which is a weird thing to say. It all sounds nice but I still don’t think I’m quite the target audience for Tool.

Final Rating: 7.5/10

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

