Album 0299: Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five – The Message

Grandmaster Flash The Message

Release Date: 1982
Genre: Rap/Hip Hop/Electro

Tracklisting:

1. She’s Fresh (04:57)
2. It’s Nasty (04:18)
3. Scorpio (04:56)
4. It’s A Shame (Mt. Airy Groove) (04:58)
5. Dreamin’ (05:46)
6. You Are (04:50)
7. The Message (07:12)
8. The Adventures Of Grandmaster Flash On The Wheels Of Steel (07:07)
9. The Adventures Of Grandmaster Himself (05:48)
10. The Message (instrumental version) (07:08)

Total Length: 56:59

She’s Fresh is really funky and cool. The chorus is catchy and the backing music is cool. Great starting track. It’s Nasty features a sample I actually recognize but is just an okay track. Kind of does it’s thing and then doesn’t do much for me. Scorpio is a straight up electro song, with distorted vocals and all. Not entirely my thing but it’s neat. It’s A Shame (Mt. Airy Groove) is kind of neat but there are definitely stretches that don’t do much for me, I’ve never been into record scratches.

Dreamin’ is a tribute to Stevie Wonder, it’s kind of cool. I still can’t get really get into that type of music, but it’s definitely more palatable now. It’s kind of odd though how they seem to be romantic lyrics but then they’re still talking about Stevie. You Are is pretty much a gospel song, it kind of feels out of place for me but I think that’s my own biases showing through. Because of that though I just plain don’t enjoy this at all.

The Message is a classic and by far the highlight of this album, it’s what made me get a hold of this album in the first place. Just a fantastic song, catchy and great lyrics. The Adventures Of Grandmaster Flash On The Wheels Of Steel and The Adventures Of Grandmaster Himself are both extended collections of samples and other things. Really not my thing, especially since I don’t think they’re done particularly well either. The instrumental version of The Message is what you would expect, honestly kind of boring in this form. I like this album overall but there are definitely things I dislike about it that rub me wrong.

Final Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

