Album 0306: Flogging Molly – Drunken Lullabies

Flogging_Molly-Drunken_Lullabies-Frontal

Release Date: 2002
Genre: Celtic Punk

Tracklisting:

1. Drunken Lullabies (03:51)
2. What’s Left Of The Flag (03:39)
3. May The Living Be Dead (In Our Wake) (03:50)
4. If I Ever Leave This World Alive (03:22)
5. The Kilburn High Road (03:43)
6. Rebels Of The Sacred Heart (05:12)
7. Swagger (02:05)
8. Cruel Mistress (02:58)
9. Death Valley Queen (04:18)
10. Another Bag Of Bricks (03:45)
11. The Rare Ould Times (04:06)
12. The Son Never Shines (On Closed Doors) (04:25)

Total Length: 45:13

Drunken Lullabies is a really classic song for me. It was one of the first songs I learned all the lyrics to and I loved it since the first time I heard it. One of the songs that set me on this whole path, honestly. What’s Left Of The Flag has a great intro before the rest of the song kicks in, it’s really great. Very strong song. May The Living Be Dead (In Our Wake) is simply great as well. A pretty fantastic trio of tracks to start the album.

If I Ever Leave This World Alive isn’t quite up to the same standard. It’s not a bad song by any means but it’s just not too interesting. The Kilburn High Road is kind of the same. For whatever reason, the song just doesn’t appeal to me, I wish I could articulate why. The ending few beats are neat though. Rebels Of The Sacred Heart kind of uses a similar intro as the second track, but I won’t really complain because it works so well. This song lives up to those first few.

Swagger has always been a strange song for me. It’s like it was left off the band’s previous album that had the same name, and it’s a mostly instrumental, shorter piece. It works well enough but I guess I don’t get it. Cruel Mistress has a pirate/sea theme, but that is kind of ruined in my opinion because there is a different singer on here, and he is frankly not as good. If he sang on more tracks or was the only singer I could get past it a bit more, but it’s annoying to have one track be lesser because of it.

Death Valley Queen has always seemed kind of slow to me and just kind of boring. Another Bag Of Bricks has a cool rhythm to it. I don’t love it but it gets points for that rhythm alone. The Rare Ould Times has a very nice intro, and when the speed picks up it is really good still. Great track. The Son Never Shines (On Closed Doors) is a slower track to end things. I’m not too fond of it but it’s not bad it. Really this album is strongest at the front, but there’s not much outright bad on here. I just feel like a couple songs simply don’t work for me.

Final Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

