Album 0315: Gorillaz – Gorillaz


Release Date: 2001
Genre: Trip Hop


1. Re-Hash (03:38)
2. 5/4 (02:40)
3. Tomorrow Comes Today (03:13)
4. New Genious (Brother) (03:58)
5. Clint Eastwood (05:40)
6. Man Research (Clapper) (04:32)
7. Punk (01:37)
8. Sound Check (Gravity) (04:41)
9. Double Bass (04:45)
10. Rock The House (04:09)
11. 19-2000 (03:28)
12. Latin Simone (¿Que Pasa Contigo?) (03:37)
13. Starshine (03:31)
14. Slow Country (03:36)
15. M1 A1 (03:49)
16. Dracula (04:42)
17. Left Hand Suzuki Method (03:09)
18. 19-2000 (Soulchild Remix) (03:29)
19. Clint Eastwood (Ed Case/Sweetie Irie Refix) (04:28)
20. Hip Albatross (02:44)
21. The Sounder (06:16)

Total Length: 01:21:42

Re-Hash is a pretty cool opening track. Both it and the whole aesthetic of the album feel like it wouldn’t be out of place in a Jet Set Radio game, which is a very good thing. 5/4 is also pretty neat, more of a rock track. I can see a garage band performing it. Tomorrow Comes Today is pretty much what I like about trip hop. It’s relaxed and calm, even if sometimes the overall vibe makes me feel uneasy.

The same can be said for New Genious (Brother) and its wonderful mixture of a bunch of different elements. I could do with a little less tape hiss but other than that I really enjoy the song. Clint Eastwood is by far the most well known song on here, for good reason. It’s simply fantastic and it’s hard to get tired of. Man Research (Clapper) seems like a bit more of an experiment but I enjoy it a whole lot. The strange vocals are kind of endearing.

Punk is like a parody of punk music and it’s just kind of annoying to be honest. Sound Check (Gravity) has an amazing chorus and by itself makes me love the song. Double Bass is a fantastic track that is pretty much an instrumental. Just plain relaxing and cool. Rock The House is pretty cool, though I think it might go on just a tad long. 19-2000 has a great hook and the song is again kind of nice and relaxing.

Latin Simone (¿Que Pasa Contigo?) is kind of boring in all honesty. Just everything about it is drab. This is kind of the point where the album falls apart for me, if I’m counting the bonus tracks as part of the album as a whole. Starshine kind of is reminiscent of the other laid back tracks, but I’m just not as into it. Slow Country brings us at least a little bit back into good graces, this is a very good song.

M1 A1 totally sounds like a b-movie soundtrack and dialogue, it’s awesome and creepy at the same time. Pretty great song, so maybe my comment earlier about the falling apart was a bit premature. This is where the vanilla album ends, and it’s a good note to end on. Dracula is pretty cool but definitely goes on too long. I like the vocals though. Left Hand Suzuki Method starts with a lame, cheesy sound of a bong. Basically a dumb intro overall but I like the weird violin riff.

19-2000 (Soulchild Remix) is way more upbeat than the original. That can be cool but in this case I personally think it makes it way too much like a pop song. Clint Eastwood (Ed Case/Sweetie Irie Refix) speeds up certain parts of the original, which is kind of neat. I really dislike the spoken part of the intro though. Overall I kind of dislike the whole thing, the added bits always annoy me, especially when they are bad like this.

Hip Albatross is just plain boring. I am no better for having heard this. The Sounder doesn’t do much for me either, probably because it’s more of a straight hip-hop song and, well, it’s just long and boring. I like the main album pretty well, it took me a bit to get into but that’s fine. The bonus tracks are almost universally not good. Dracula is the only one I’d have liked to been worked into the main album, maybe let it replace Latin Simone.

Final Rating: 7.5/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: