Album 0380: Michael Jackson – Off The Wall

michael_jackson_off_the_wall-front

Release Date: 1979
Genre: Funk/Pop

Tracklisting:

1. Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough (06:06)
2. Rock With You (03:41)
3. Workin’ Day And Night (05:15)
4. Get On The Floor (04:40)
5. Off The Wall (04:07)
6. Girlfriend (03:05)
7. She’s Out Of My Life (03:38)
8. I Can’t Help It (04:30)
9. It’s The Falling In Love (03:49)
10. Burn This Disco Out (03:42)
11. Quincy Jones Interview #1 (00:38)
12. Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough Intro (00:13)
13. Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough (demo) (04:48)
14. Quincy Jones Interview #2 (00:30)
15. Workin’ Day And Night Intro (00:10)
16. Workin’ Day And Night (demo) (04:20)
17. Quincy Jones Interview #3 (00:49)
18. Rod Temperton Interview (04:57)
19. Quincy Jones Interview #4 (01:33)

Total Length: 01:00:30

Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough greets us with a terrible intro, but once the hook kicks in things get to a nice point quickly. The vocals seem kind of subdued and not normally what I’d expect, but they still kind of work. The song goes on too long in my opinion, that last minute is entirely useless. Rock With You has a fantastic pre-chorus and a good chorus, and that’s the strength of the song entirely.

Workin’ Day And Night is boring to me. I somewhat enjoy the chorus but that is all. Get On The Floor is saved by its bass line alone. It’s so freakin’ good. Off The Wall is sort of boring as well. I don’t really get it. Girlfriend has the cheesiest opening yet I love it. The bass is also a standout bit in here. She’s Out Of My Life is kind of a boring ballad, if some things had been done differently with it I could have really liked it.

I Can’t Help It is very subdued as well, and feels held back. I can’t really enjoy it. It’s The Falling In Love is stronger at least, with a fun intro. Burn This Disco Out has a good chorus, and I enjoy the track. The demo versions of songs are a bit rougher. Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough is still kind of long, even though it’s shorter than the final version. Workin’ Day And Night is kind of jarring and not very steady. All of the interviews are almost boring, almost useless. I may have said a good amount of negative criticism throughout this, but I do enjoy listening through this. There’s nothing outright bad here.

Final Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

