Album 0386: Big D And The Kids Table – Good Luck


Release Date: 1999
Genre: Ska/Punk


1. Myself (02:34)
2. 5 Kids Down (02:16)
3. G.L.D. (02:02)
4. Are You Just Scared? (01:46)
5. Fatman (03:18)
6. She Won’t Ever Figure It Out (02:26)
7. Take Another Look (02:36)
8. Find Out (04:23)
9. Can’t Be Caught (02:56)
10. I’d Rather (02:45)
11. Apology (00:51)
12. Dirt Lip (02:34)
13. Learning To Listen (02:04)
14. 51 Gardner (05:21)
15. Good Luck (04:21)

Total Length: 42:13

Myself has a good intro and a catchy chorus. This other singer here crops up throughout the album and it’s never too great. Fine starting song though. 5 Kids Down has a slightly annoying intro, but past that the song picks up and the verse is fantastic. G.L.D. is a great track, and it’s only helped by it’s reference to Sloop John B. in the chorus. Are You Just Scared? is a little song that relies on the strength of its fairly good chorus.

Fatman has some cool little moments throughout but doesn’t catch me overall, sadly. She Won’t Ever Figure It Out is kind of a very nice guy song but the lyrics can be a little funny, and the music works well. Take Another Look has a slightly creepy atmosphere that entirely works and gives it an edge. Find Out is a bit slower and much less punk oriented. It’s a very catchy song that gets stuck in your head.

Can’t Be Caught is a decent track but it doesn’t stick with me. It has a neat little guitar solo though. I’d Rather has the same issue, just not very memorably. Apology is an annoying little track, I don’t really care for it. Dirt Lip is kind of funny but not a great song. Learning To Listen has a fantastic riff for a band like this, just insanely good.

51 Gardner is a decent song, but that’s about all I can say about it. It ends after the three minute mark, and we get some random studio chatter for the remainder. I don’t really care for it and it’s kind of annoying when listening through the album. Good Luck is probably the most laid back song on here. It’s definitely enjoyable, but it completely loses me most of the way through. Not entirely sure why. That also kind of sums up this album. Strong start but by the end I’m just confused.

Final Rating: 6.5/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: