Album 0387: The Beatles – With The Beatles


Release Date: 1963
Genre: Pop/Rock


1. It Won’t Be Long (02:16)
2. All I’ve Got To Do (02:06)
3. All My Loving (02:13)
4. Don’t Bother Me (02:31)
5. Little Child (01:50)
6. Till There Was You (02:19)
7. Please Mister Postman (02:39)
8. Roll Over Beethoven (02:49)
9. Hold Me Tight (02:35)
10. You Really Got A Hold On Me (03:04)
11. I Wanna Be Your Man (02:01)
12. Devil In Her Heart (02:30)
13. Not A Second Time (02:12)
14. Money (That’s What I Want) (02:49)

Total Length: 33:53

It Won’t Be Long has a very catchy chorus, and I really like the arrangement with the guitar sneaking in licks. The vocal layering works well too. All I’ve Got To Do is a nice song that fits the style of the time. It kind of ends suddenly but I enjoy it while it’s on, other than being able to hear the squeak of the drum pedal. All My Loving has some okay moments but otherwise just doesn’t do too much for me.

Don’t Bother Me is kind of different from the other tracks on here with its attitude, and that gets it some points. It gets a tiny bit boring halfway through. Little Child is an odd little song that doesn’t do much for me. Till There Was You is quite boring to me, I don’t feel that it’s a worthwhile song, or at least rendition of it. Please Mister Postman gets stuck in your head which is cool.

Roll Over Beethoven is boring and kind of embarrassing to be totally honest. Hold Me Tight is another track where you can hear the pedal squeak, but it’s a fun little thing. Just very simplistic, but then again that was the trend at the time. You Really Got A Hold On Me has a neat hook and for some reason I really, really like it. I Wanna Be Your Man is kind of odd in that I shouldn’t like it, yet I do.

Devil In Her Heart is plain uninteresting to me. Not A Second Time is much the same. Money (That’s What I Want) is kind of a classic and I have a small soft spot for it in that sense. This seems like an album I can come back to on a rare occasion, but it doesn’t hold any kind of place in my head or heart really. A couple neat songs and that’s it.

Final Rating: 6/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: