Album 0388: Coldplay – A Rush Of Blood To The Head

Coldplay-ARushOfBloodToTheHead

Release Date: 2002
Genre: Alternative Rock/Pop

Tracklisting:

1. Politik (05:19)
2. In My Place (03:49)
3. God Put A Smile Upon Your Face (04:57)
4. The Scientist (05:09)
5. Clocks (05:07)
6. Daylight (05:28)
7. Green Eyes (03:43)
8. Warning Sign (05:31)
9. A Whisper (03:58)
10. A Rush Of Blood To The Head (05:51)
11. Amsterdam (05:19)

Total Length: 54:12

Unfortunately, Politik annoys me from the absolute start. I can not stand the plodding pace or those guitar chords that sound like someone is completely bored with whatever they’re playing. The verse is the only good section on here, and it deserves a better song. In My Place is like a Radiohead song got leaked elsewhere. This kind of rings true for a lot of stuff on here. I almost like this track.

God Put A Smile Upon Your Face is fairly good but too long. Again, something that happens all over this album. The Scientist takes too long to get going, but is okay once it gets there. Clocks is the only hook on here I was familiar with before hearing this, and it still sounds just as cheesy as when it appeared all over the place. There’s barely anything to the song past it. Daylight seems to be an homage to The Beatles, and considering I absolutely hate that Beatles song you can guess what I think about this track.

Green Eyes is a boring acoustic track. That’s all I can hear. Warning Sign has both of those issues I’ve mentioned previously. A Whisper lacks energy, it just does nothing and never reaches a climax. A Rush Of Blood To The Head is much the same, mostly in relating to being boring. Amsterdam is unremarkable. All these songs are too long and the pace is ungodly slow. It just makes me want to fall asleep but not in a good way. I wanted to like this, but the atmosphere of the whole album is depressing, and again, not in a good way.

Final Rating: 4/10

Leave a Reply

