Album 0407: Redemption – This Mortal Coil


Release Date: 2011
Genre: Progressive Metal



1. Path Of The Whirlwind (05:26)
2. Blink Of An Eye (05:57)
3. No Tickets To The Funeral (06:26)
4. Dreams From The Pit (09:12)
5. Noonday Devil (05:04)
6. Let It Rain (07:22)
7. Focus (05:43)
8. Perfect (04:49)
9. Begin Again (06:12)
10. Stronger Than Death (05:29)
11. Departure Of The Pale Horse (10:15)


1. Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding (10:31)
2. Jane (04:04)
3. Hold The Line (03:40)
4. Edge Of The Blade (04:36)
5. Love To Love (07:02)
6. Precious Things (07:24)

Total Length: 01:49:12

Path Of The Whirlwind starts off with catchy riffs, melodies, and solos and it’s fun to follow along the buildup and changes. The vocals work fairly well, but aren’t as interesting. The chorus wants to be more energetic but just doesn’t get there. We move right along into Blink Of An Eye, which features a few neat moments but really doesn’t catch my attention. I can’t find much of this material bad in any way, but it’s also not entirely appealing.

No Tickets To The Funeral has a good pace but it feels misshapen. There’s never any groove to the whole performance, it’s just presented as is and that’s it. I’m probably not explaining myself well, but when do I ever? Dreams From The Pit is longer but really doesn’t offer me anything. There are some nice moments I suppose, but they kind of go in one ear and out the other. Noonday Devil starts off with probably the most atmospheric and well-toned bit so far, and the song itself is one of the better ones so far.

Let It Rain is also a better song, with more dynamics to it, but still doesn’t grip me. Focus follows the same path of being sadly average and bland. Perfect continues the trend. It’s hard for me to even comment on this. Begin Again is almost good, it almost pulls me in but never makes the leap. It doesn’t feel like it’s really trying with the music. The lyrics on this album are pretty good though, they work fine.

Stronger Than Death kind of works, surprisingly. The lyrics work in tandem with the music at points, and the whole thing sounds nice. Departure Of The Pale Horse is bigger and the overall flow of the song works better. I especially enjoy the referential bit, even if it back to only just the previous song. Still not something I yearn to listen to again. The disc of covers begins with Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding, a massive Elton John song. It’s pretty classic and the band mostly plays it well, but it does feel like they oddly changed things to fit their sound. Yeah, it’s kind of what covers can do, but it doesn’t work.

Jane is a cover of Jefferson Starship and again, the guitars way drown out the keyboards. It kind of ruins the song. Hold The Line is a song I never even cared for in the first place. The band’s take on this Toto song doesn’t change my mind on that one bit. Edge Of The Blade was originally by Journey, and it’s not very good. Seriously. Love To Love is a UFO track, and probably the best song here, which sucks since it’s a cover. The Tori Amos song Precious Things finishes things off. It’s not the best ending in a sense, but I guess it wasn’t really meant to be. There are some things in it that annoy me, but they were probably already there in the original. I really wanted to like this album a lot, but it just doesn’t do it for me. Makes me sad.

Final Rating: 6/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: