Album 0408: Dimmu Borgir – Death Cult Armageddon


Release Date: 2003
Genre: Melodic Black Metal


1. Allegiance (05:50)
2. Progenies Of The Great Apocalypse (05:18)
3. Lepers Among Us (04:44)
4. Vredesbyrd (04:44)
5. For The World To Dictate Our Death (04:47)
6. Blood Hunger Doctrine (04:40)
7. Allehelgens Død I Helveds Rike (The Death Of All Saints In The Kingdom Of Hell) (05:35)
8. Cataclysm Children (05:16)
9. Eradication Instincts Defined (07:13)
10. Unorthodox Manifesto (08:50)
11. Heavenly Perverse (06:33)
12. Satan My Master (02:16)
13. Progenies Of The Great Apocalypse (orchestral version) (05:16)
14. Eradication Instincts Defined (orchestral version) (07:26)

Total Length: 01:18:26

Allegiance starts us off in a pretty solid way. There are some great riffs here, the vocals work well, the bass is audible, and the orchestral backing adds some neat touches and variety. The song is also fairly dynamic, something we didn’t get on yesterday’s album. Progenies Of The Great Apocalypse is even better, featuring some guest and clean vocals that are both very nice additions. The variety of these add a great deal to the song, and the orchestra is even more prominent.

Lepers Among Us doesn’t quite top that, but it’s fairly decent. I at least don’t really get bored listening to it. Vredesbyrd is much the same. It’s nice to listen to, but doesn’t really grasp me. For The World To Dictate Our Death continues the trend of being fair but non-evocative. The songs don’t make me want to listen to them past the first time. Blood Hunger Doctrine has a good ending to it though.

Allehelgens Død I Helveds Rike brings back the clean vocals which is neat, but about the only notable thing about it. Cataclysm Children doesn’t even have that, it’s just an average song for the album. Eradication Instincts Defined has an amazing opening, and keeps up the pace pretty well through the track. The dance feel to it kind of breathes some much needed life into the album.

Unorthodox Manifesto is even longer than the previous track, but doesn’t do anything really inventive enough for it. Heavenly Perverse has some okay moments, but otherwise ends the regular album off in just a very plain way. Satan My Master is a Bathory cover, it’s a good, short song that is plenty of fun. The orchestral versions of the next two songs are pretty simply explained, with all of the orchestral backing soloed out. Progenies Of The Great Apocalypse and Eradication Instincts Defined both are neat to hear by themselves, but don’t really offer anything interesting worth hearing multiple times. The whole album is kind of summed up like that, to be honest.

Final Rating: 6.5/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: