Album 0421: Epica – The Divine Conspiracy


Release Date: 2007
Genre: Symphonic/Gothic Metal


1. Indigo (Prologue) (02:05)
2. The Obsessive Devotion (07:13)
3. Menace Of Vanity (04:13)
4. Chasing The Dragon (07:40)
5. Never Enough (04:47)
6. La’petach Chatat Rovetz (The Final Embrace) (01:46)
7. Death Of A Dream (The Embrace That Smothers, Part VII) (06:04)
8. Living A Lie (The Embrace That Smothers, Part VIII) (04:57)
9. Fools Of Damnation (The Embrace That Smothers, Part IX) (08:42)
10. Beyond Belief (05:25)
11. Safeguard To Paradise (05:25)
12. Sancta Terra (04:58)
13. The Divine Conspiracy (13:57)
14. Higher High (05:27)
15. Replica (04:10)

Total Length: 01:25:11

For an intro track, Indigo (Prologue) has some really nice melodies weaved through it that get referenced again later and it holds its own. I never feel like skipping it, which is definitely a credit. The Obsessive Devotion is a bigger song, and a very strong one at that. The vocals all work wonders, and I love the mix of operatic female vocals with growled male vocals, it’s a neat dissonance but they still blend well. Just an overall great song, and I don’t notice the length.

Menace Of Vanity just works well, the riffs are great and I love everything going on with it. I like that this is a band that doesn’t forget to be metal, instead of just performing heavy pop songs, like some others in the same genre. Chasing The Dragon is a great, larger song. The first major chunk of it is kind of slow, but I absolutely love the vocal lines. Then the song just takes off at light speed for a few minutes before coming back down to earth.

Never Enough has kind of generic guitars, but I do really enjoy the chorus. La’petach Chatat Rovetz (The Final Embrace) is an okay intro to the next batch of songs, it’s not really noticeable. Death Of A Dream (The Embrace That Smothers, Part VII) is a monster of a song. It’s kind of furious and relentless and just wholly enjoyable. Living A Lie (The Embrace That Smothers, Part VIII) is fairly good, but kind of surrounded by better songs. The funny part of it is the sample at the end, a chanting sample I’ve heard on at least two other occasions, and it takes me right out of the flow of the album.

Fools Of Damnation (The Embrace That Smothers, Part IX) is just fantastic, it’s pretty hard to hate this song in any way. Beyond Belief is pretty solid as well, I don’t get bored during it and as usual the vocal lines are great. Safeguard To Paradise kind of sounds like a song from a musical, but it’s really nice. Sancta Terra has a lot of good moments, I love the arrangement and all the little fun bits that play throughout.

The Divine Conspiracy is a massive song, and still the band’s longest single song. The first chunk is kind of standard fare, before most of the band takes a break and we a solo symphonic section. Once the band comes back in, it leads into my favorite section of the song, capping the normal album off wonderfully. Higher High is a bonus track, and again the vocals just completely sell it for me. Replica is a cover of a Fear Factory song, and while I don’t know the original, they do a great job here. I think I can assume that they did change it to fit their style, and that’s quite nice. This whole album took a while to click, but now I just really enjoy it. Even being fairly lengthy, this never feels like a waste. There’s only maybe one song that I feel doesn’t deserve to be here.

Final Rating: 8/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: