Album 0425: Transatlantic – The Whirlwind

Transatlantic-TheWhirlwind

Release Date: 2009
Genre: Progressive Rock

Tracklisting:

DISC ONE

1. The Whirlwind

    I. Overture/Whirlwind
    II. The Wind Blew Them All Away
    III. On The Prowl
    IV. A Man Can Feel
    V. Out Of The Night
    VI. Rose Colored Glasses
    VII. Evermore
    VIII. Set Us Free
    IX. Lay Down Your Life
    X. Pieces Of Heaven
    XI. Is It Really Happening?
    XII. Dancing With Eternal Glory/Whirlwind (Reprise) (77:54)

DISC TWO

1. Spinning (09:58)
2. Lenny Johnson (04:20)
3. For Such A Time (05:23)
4. Lending A Hand (08:43)
5. The Return Of The Giant Hogweed (08:26)
6. A Salty Dog (04:59)
7. I Need You (04:39)
8. Soul Sacrifice (10:00)

Total Length: 02:14:22

Overture/Whirlwind begins the album in a slower manner, with what seems to be references to other records, most notably for me being Dark Side Of The Moon. The band does come in fairly quickly though, and we get some nice musings and building of themes. The second part of this first section is pretty nice, but not really up to the quality I would expect for what’s kind of the main theme of the album. The Wind Blew Them All Away is much closer to that in my opinion, it’s kind of bluesy and dark, but the main line just sticks in my head.

On The Prowl is kind of fun, but there’s some intangible quality that is preventing me from truly enjoying it. I wish I could tell what it is. A Man Can Feel starts off fantastic, it’s like a dark circus and the vocals are great. That quickly goes away, but it was nice while it was there. Out Of The Night is kind of fun, but feels kind of generic for these guys. Rose Colored Glasses is pretty nice too, but it doesn’t really connect with me.

Evermore is pretty nice though, this is some of the Transatlantic I really enjoy, it’s fun. Set Us Free is fairly good, I like some of the moments in this section. Lay Down Your Life kind of channels some other certain band that I can’t quite figure out, but it’s pretty great and over the top. Pieces Of Heaven is super fun and one of the best little bits on the album. Is It Really Happening? again does that channeling thing, and I quite like it. Dancing With Eternal Glory/Whirlwind (Reprise) is kind of drawn out and doesn’t do too much for me. It just sounds ‘nice.’

The bonus disc starts with Spinning and it’s amazing. I’d wager it might be the best song on this entire set, it’s what I love about this band. Lenny Johnson is fun and quirky, it’s kind of like some of those classic prog rock songs they modeled this whole band on. For Such A Time is slow Neal Morse song that they can not go an album without, it’s very boring. Lending A Hand has a couple neat moments but goes on far too long. It should be half the length.

The Return Of The Giant Hogweed begins the string of cover songs, this one by Genesis. I like the song, it’s really upbeat and gives everyone a chance to show some technical prowess and have fun. A Salty Dog was originally by Procol Harum, and the song is kind of just there and boring. I have no idea if the original is like that, but this version does no favors. I Need You is a combination of songs of the same name by the Beatles and America, and it’s very cool. The combo bit is fun, and it keeps the song varied and interesting. Soul Sacrifice was a Santana track, it’s not really my thing. I’m sure they loved to play it, but it really doesn’t do much for me. There is also a small hidden track afterwards, it’s an old-fashioned track in many respects, and it’s kind of fun. This whole album doesn’t quite sit well with me, but there are some great moments throughout it.

Final Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

