Album 0426: Murder By Death – Good Morning, Magpie

MurderByDeath-GoodMorningMagpie

Release Date: 2010
Genre: Indie Rock

Tracklisting:

1. Kentucky Bourbon (00:34)
2. As Long As There Is Whiskey In The World (03:15)
3. On The Dark Streets Below (02:36)
4. King Of The Gutters, Prince Of The Dogs (04:43)
5. Piece By Piece (04:28)
6. Good Morning, Magpie (05:24)
7. You Don’t Miss Twice (When You’re Shaving With A Knife) (02:36)
8. Yes (02:23)
9. Foxglove (03:06)
10. White Noise (04:53)
11. The Day (03:33)

Total Length: 37:30

Kentucky Bourbon is a beautiful little track to start off the album, it serves as an intro to the whole deal as well as the next song. It’s fueled entirely by the vocals, and just sticks with you. As Long As There Is Whiskey In The World starts off slow, and keeps building the pace until all hell lets loose during the chorus, and it’s amazing. I just love the indie elements with the underbelly of a strong folk band. It’s a wonderful combination.

On The Dark Streets Below is pretty fun as well, it’s just kind of charming and quick. King Of The Gutters, Prince Of The Dogs is kind of a misstep for me, the pace just kills the momentum of the album for me. It eventually gets going, but kind of too little too late. Piece By Piece has a neat intro, but frankly once again this song takes too long to get going. On one hand, I’m glad they loaded up the songs I like the least altogether, but it also drags the whole album down.

Good Morning, Magpie has a few neat moments in it, but I consider it in the same group I was just describing. You Don’t Miss Twice (When You’re Shaving With A Knife) thankfully turns things around and makes things fun again. The intro is too catchy and I love the feel and ‘bounce’ of the song. It feels like a song from a musical, I really enjoy it. Yes is really upbeat and fun and really plays up the folk aspect.

Foxglove is pretty great as well, just kind of a forward-motion of a song and I really like the chorus. White Noise is kind of dark and slower, but way more interesting than the other tracks on here in the same vein. The only real complaint I have on it is the fade from the previous song at the beginning, rather that the last song doesn’t fully fade out and sounds awkward. The Day is a fairly strong song, but it just kind of ends suddenly for me. I really like most of this album, but there’s definitely a chunk of it I could do without. It’s kind of odd, but I suppose the whole thing works.

Final Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

